You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 28th, 2007, 03:01 AM   #1
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Old Toshiba PLC - UK support?

I have a piece of kit controlled by a Toshiba M20 Prosec EX PLC. The PLC has an output permanently on so is currently unusable. I would like to back it up before it is repaired (or better still replaced). There is no hardcopy of the ladder listing.

I have what looks like the correct programming cable and software which should do the job. Unfortunately the software constantly whinges about the lack of a hardware key and has no useful functionality. I can't find the appropriate dongle anywhere.

I need to contact Toshiba to rent/borrow/buy the hardware key I need. I can't find anything remotely related to PLCs on Toshiba's UK web site - anyone got a contact name + number please?
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2007, 03:50 AM   #2
Goody
Member
United Kingdom

Goody is offline
 
Goody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Huddersfield W Yorks UK
Posts: 1,062
I used to do a lot with Toshiba plc's and hated every moment.
And by the way, they are quite easy to repair.
You cant get the exact relays but you can get them the exact size and voltage but they are double pole so you need to cut a leg off to make them fit.

I did have a dongle but unfortunately I sold the cables/dongle/software etc a couple of years back.

However,you can still get around the dongle if several versions of the software exist (PDD.EXE)
On one version you could only write to the plc and another can only read from it (without dongle)

The toshiba site used to have several versions of ppd.exe, they may still have them. They were a free download.

The software is DOS based and doesnt like modern fast laptops. The connection keeps getting lost.

Hope this is of some help.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2007, 04:00 AM   #3
AutomaticLeigh
Member
United Kingdom

AutomaticLeigh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 102
I had problem with a Tosh a couple of years ago. Park Electrical Services in West Bromwich have a guy who knows all about them (can't remember his name).
  Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 10:51 AM   #4
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Thumbs up Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by AutomaticLeigh
I had problem with a Tosh a couple of years ago. Park Electrical Services in West Bromwich have a guy who knows all about them (can't remember his name).
Good information. Thanks for that.
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 04:39 PM   #5
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,633
I agree park electrical are the kiddies, other than that if you need a handheld programmer then i have one i can lend you, i think its for the ex series (will have to look as i have the memory of a goldfish!!)

I used it to get the program out of some polymer feeders to convert to S7's, fairly easy to use and i think i have the manual for it (again from memory!!)
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2007, 02:22 AM   #6
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Thanks Dave.

I already have an EX hand-held. If one of my predecessors hadn't lost the dongle, I'd be geared-up to use a PC with the M20. Will probably get PE to find me a contractor to get an upload and listing sorted. Will be cheaper than buying the software/dongle again...
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 04:43 AM   #7
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Exclamation Update and a word of caution

The information below is purely a statement of fact.

As a result of this posting, I was contacted by a guy called Steve Andrews trading under the name of Ecoskies. He told me he had a surplus dongle and we agreed a price of 100. I sent him a cheque just before Christmas. Since then his e-mails are bouncing and his company appears to have ceased trading. I still don't have a Toshiba dongle.

The cheque was cashed last week. Draw your own conclusions.
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 07:18 PM   #8
cjd1965
Member
United Kingdom

cjd1965 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,167
Sounds to me like you should get him in your sights... Maybe the receiver has it and you could buy it from them



OT.. is that you shooting, and where do you do it? It is impossible to find outdoor shooting club near me
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #9
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolGuyFred
The information below is purely a statement of fact.

As a result of this posting, I was contacted by a guy called Steve Andrews trading under the name of Ecoskies. He told me he had a surplus dongle and we agreed a price of 100. I sent him a cheque just before Christmas. Since then his e-mails are bouncing and his company appears to have ceased trading. I still don't have a Toshiba dongle.

The cheque was cashed last week. Draw your own conclusions.
Where were they ? Never heard of Escockies ? Can you pay them a visit ?
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 02:25 AM   #10
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by 504bloke
Where were they ? Never heard of Escockies ? Can you pay them a visit ?
They still have a web site:

http://www.ecoskies.com/

Phone is 0845 2301 101 (not operational)

one e-mail address bounces straight back, the other is being ignored.

Directions:
"If you are using SATNAV our postcode is S44 5HS. Unit 70, M1 Commerce Park, Markham Lane, Duckmanton."

It isn't the fact that someone's taken the money and run that bothers me. I understand that companies go broke and the receivers grab every penny they can, however immoraly. I just resent the fact that the guy doesn't have the testicular fortitude to contact me and tell me the situation.
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 03:37 AM   #11
krk
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

krk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 784
You could always contact him at home....

http://whois.domaintools.com/ecoskies.com
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 03:56 AM   #12
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Nice one!

At least I know where he lives now.

I have sent an e-mail to one of his other addresses for a kick-off. Watch this space.
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 04:16 PM   #13
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by krk
You could always contact him at home....

http://whois.domaintools.com/ecoskies.com
Damn, got beaten to it
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2008, 06:19 AM   #14
Potter
Member
United Kingdom

Potter is offline
 
Potter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolGuyFred
. If one of my predecessors hadn't lost the dongle, I'd be geared-up to use a PC with the M20.
Sounds like A.N. still likes to blame everything on the guy who left.

Some things never change then.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2008, 06:24 AM   #15
ToolGuyFred
Member
England

ToolGuyFred is offline
 
ToolGuyFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 145
Just for a change it wasn't A.N. and it wasn't the guy who just left. It was a mech-elec pointing the finger at the guy before the guy before the guy who just left...

Or something like that.
__________________
If my job were easy, somebody else would be doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta V with S7 300 CPU via Profifbus teh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 17th, 2010 03:08 AM
Toshiba Plc indra LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 3rd, 2006 12:33 AM
PLC to PLC Communication (Mitsubishi FX2N) c0met LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 31st, 2004 07:31 PM
Toshiba Medium Plc Primer George2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 May 13th, 2004 11:14 AM
Normally open or closed or... Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 February 3rd, 2003 07:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


.