You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 14th, 2007, 01:09 AM   #1
twinkletoes
Member
United Kingdom

twinkletoes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Noob Question - DOL Motor Control Via PLC

Hi,

This may sound like a stupid question, but I have been asked to create some PLC logic to control a motor that is wired up on a DOL starter.

The current setup is that the motor is wired through a MCB and contactor, which can be stopped and started via a pair of push buttons.

Currently, the only input to the PLC is the MCB and contactor for that motor (The push buttons are wired directly to the contactor)

There will be two operating modes for this motor; AUTO and MANUAL

What is required is that in MANUAL, the motor will be run via the push buttons. In AUTO the motor will run for a particular set of conditions.

With the current setup, is this possible? (I cannot see how this would be at the minute)

Regards,
twinkletoes
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 02:12 AM   #2
corkers
Member
Australia

corkers is offline
 
corkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 94
It really depends on what you need to achive..


If you trust the PLC then you could wire a selector switch in ie LOCAL / REMOTE control then wire the push buttons to the PLC and have the PLC control the operation of the DOL starter.

ie

in REMOTE mode the PLC starts the DOL starter as per the PLC program

in LOCAL mode the PLC recieves a start signal from the push button and starts the DOL starter, a signal from the stop PB (or lack thereof) would stop the DOL starter.

Alternately

A multipole change over switch could be used to isolate the plc from the DOL starter and connect a conventional stop start circuit to the DOL starter.

In some places I have worked this is the prefered method so that true local control is possible in fact one place I worked at had both systems in place for each motor starter (in excess of 1000 individual starters...) that is it was possible to start the motor in REMOTE (via the PLC), LOCAL via the PLC or MANUAL (relay logic).

One thing to be wary of is the voltages of the coils you employ, if you are using a 400V coil in the DOL starter this wouldn't really be suitable to operate directly from a PLC an interposing relay would be needed, on the other hand if you use 24VDC coils on the DOL starter you would need 24VDC for your relay logic switching. Let us know exaclel what you are looking to achive and I (we) may be able to be more specific in addressing your needs

Cheers

Andrew
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 02:41 AM   #3
twinkletoes
Member
United Kingdom

twinkletoes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Thanks. So from what I am wanting to achieve, compared to what I have, futher modifications will be required?

In AUTO I am wanting to operate the motor for a particular set of conditions.

In MANUAL I am wanting the motor to be operated via the push buttons and cut out under a maximum limit value.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 04:10 AM   #4
silva.foxx
Member
Wales

silva.foxx is offline
 
silva.foxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Wales; always West to England!
Posts: 510
Hi twinkletoes

You can start by listing your IO;

IN0; Overload
IN1; Manual/Auto
IN2; Start PB
IN3; Stop PB
IN4; Max limit
IN5; ...

OUT0; Contactor
OUT1; ...

State your conditions required in;

MANUAL mode
...

AUTO mode
...
__________________
silva.foxx

Simplicate, NOT complicate.

Last edited by silva.foxx; December 14th, 2007 at 04:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 04:28 AM   #5
twinkletoes
Member
United Kingdom

twinkletoes is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Currently the IO are as follows

I1 - MCB
I2 - Contactor
I3 - Auto mode
I4 - Manual mode
I5 - 'Auto' Condition
I6 - 'Manual' Condition

Q1 - Running Indicator
Q2 - Motor AUTO/MANUAL

In AUTO: Run motor until I5 has been made

In MANUAL: Run motor via push buttons OR until I6 has been made

That is about it.... For what I am wanting to acheive I cannot see how it would work! I am assuming that modifications will have to be made? (The push buttons are only wired into the contactor, and there is no outpur to actually activate the motor)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 04:33 AM   #6
tragically1969
Member
United Kingdom

tragically1969 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 635
You have kind of answered your own questions, you will need all those signals listed back at the PLC to achieve what you want, so yes modifications will have to be made

Assuming it is a self contained DOL starter its probaly going to be best to mount the contactor set in a new box with buttons mounted on the front wired back to the PLC rather than butchering the existing DOL enclosure
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 06:16 AM   #7
PeterW
Member
Canada

PeterW is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,486
An alternative would be to wire the hand/auto so that you can run in hand via the pushbuttons with the PLC out of the cct, then in Auto, the PLC control the motor.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 12:26 AM   #8
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,310
Quote:
That is about it.... For what I am wanting to acheive I cannot see how it would work! I am assuming that modifications will have to be made? (The push buttons are only wired into the contactor, and there is no output to actually activate the motor)
It would work just dandy. I have wired many motors to be controlled like this, with a Auto/Manual Selector switch that selects which location has START control, the PLC or the Manual local pushbutton Start/Stop station (Stop always works from either place).

Modifications will be needed to add the new PLC control inputs and outputs to the existing motor starter. You will probably need some relays, a selector switch, and wiring back to the PLC.

I can make a schematic diagram showing how to wire it, if it would help. Where will the Auto/Manual switch be located, or will it be an HMI "software" switch?

Last edited by Lancie1; December 15th, 2007 at 12:30 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 02:19 AM   #9
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,310
Here is an excel spreadsheet with a motor starter schematic. Red lines are modifications to add PLC Manual/Auto mode.
Attached Files
File Type: xls MotStartSchematic-PLC Auto Mode.xls (56.5 KB, 83 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im a noob and Need Help.. whith a PLC Question Tillado LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 14th, 2007 03:53 PM
Hard wiring the PLC Doug Hylton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 46 October 23rd, 2007 12:21 PM
PLC 5 PID Instruction Question - Integral Andrew Evenson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 27th, 2007 08:04 AM
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 06:24 AM
Real World Problem Vietnam Bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 23rd, 2002 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


.