You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 30th, 2008, 01:08 PM   #1
BigTed
Member
Canada

BigTed is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1
PLC5 to ControlLogix Upgrade - GSV?

Hi,

We are upgrading a PLC5 to ControlLogix (L61) and want to know if we can replicate the Run/Test/Program Mode Status Bits (S:1/01 -> S:1/03).

I've seen some status bits that can be extracted with the GSV command but how do you do that if the processor is in Program Mode - as the ladder won't be executing?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 02:57 PM   #2
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 3,902
If you are using Linx Classic, try some of the predefined status items on the topic:

[CLX_OPC_TOPIC]@Mode returns a string of the processor mode, (Run, Program, Remote Run, Remote Program)

[CLX_OPC_TOPIC]@Status returns a string of processor state (Ok or Faulted).


Look up "Predefined Items" in Linx Help for more.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 03:35 PM   #3
ttichy
Member
United States

ttichy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: strongsville, OH
Posts: 74
GSV won't work

GSV is only executed when the processor is in the run mode, so when it goes to Program mode, it won't update.
I remember seeing something on the knowledgebase about another processor doing an MSG to find out the status. Aside from that, I think the RSLinx method that rdrast mentioned is your best bet.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2008, 09:07 PM   #4
curlyandshemp
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

curlyandshemp is offline
 
curlyandshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttichy
GSV is only executed when the processor is in the run mode, so when it goes to Program mode, it won't update.
I remember seeing something on the knowledgebase about another processor doing an MSG to find out the status. Aside from that, I think the RSLinx method that rdrast mentioned is your best bet.
seems kind of silly to have an instruction to detect the PLC is in program mode, when the PLC needs to be in Run mode to execute the instruction.

This reminds me of a job I done a long time ago in S.A. with S5-135u. This PLC was in a very hot room and at the time it was a known fact that a 135U did not like heat. After I left the job site to return home for a few weeks, the customer ran the process knowing full well that the PLC was operating outside of the nominal operating temperature. One day when the plant was shut down, the PLC began randomly setting outputs causing a scenerio where some equipment became damaged. With all the usual 'who is at fault' **** that followed, someone chirped up that in my program I did not have the CPU INSANE bit programmed to monitor for such occurences. Of course my only comeback to that was, eventhough the PLC went off the deep end, It should have be 'SANE' enough to know that it had gone 'INSANE' and taken appropriate action?
__________________
Work to Ride,
Then Ride to Work

I would rather have a bottle in front of me..
than to have a frontal lobotomy
  Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2008, 08:29 AM   #5
ttichy
Member
United States

ttichy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: strongsville, OH
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyandshemp
seems kind of silly to have an instruction to detect the PLC is in program mode, when the PLC needs to be in Run mode to execute the instruction.

This reminds me of a job I done a long time ago in S.A. with S5-135u. This PLC was in a very hot room and at the time it was a known fact that a 135U did not like heat. After I left the job site to return home for a few weeks, the customer ran the process knowing full well that the PLC was operating outside of the nominal operating temperature. One day when the plant was shut down, the PLC began randomly setting outputs causing a scenerio where some equipment became damaged. With all the usual 'who is at fault' **** that followed, someone chirped up that in my program I did not have the CPU INSANE bit programmed to monitor for such occurences. Of course my only comeback to that was, eventhough the PLC went off the deep end, It should have be 'SANE' enough to know that it had gone 'INSANE' and taken appropriate action?
He he. Good answer! This sane/insane stuff makes me think of my own uxorial discussions

p.s. finally I get to use that word in a sentence!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC5 Rack As RIO For ControlLogix tgoulding LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 38 May 17th, 2011 03:55 PM
OPC Server for AB PLC5 & Controllogix khalid_inayat LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 28th, 2007 09:19 AM
ControlLogix and PLC5 Remote I/O Rack tgoulding LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 February 21st, 2007 10:51 AM
PLC5 IO to Controllogix via ControlNet RalphKitts LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 8th, 2006 03:28 PM
Msg instruction ControlLogix PLC5 svetagl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 June 16th, 2006 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


.