You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 4th, 2008, 03:29 PM   #1
floresv
Member
Mexico

floresv is offline
 
floresv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cd. Juarez, chih
Posts: 5
Unhappy Panelview plus .mer

I want to know if there is any form that I can convert a panelview plus application with the extension .mer to an application with the extension .apa
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 03:41 PM   #2
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 846
you need to use the application manager that was installed with rsview studio to convert mer to apa
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 03:52 PM   #3
kbpatton
Member
United States

kbpatton is offline
 
kbpatton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 71
In previous versions, once the .mer is created, it can not be opened and edited. Unlike the Panelviews where a .pva file can be changed back into a .pba. I was told by a Rockwell guy that that option will soon be available in newer revs of the software.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 03:59 PM   #4
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 1,968
In version 5.0 the capability was added to allow or prevent version 5.0 or newer .mer files to be used to rebuild a development project (.med). Version 5 has been available since October 2007 I believe.

If the runtime (.mer) was created in an earlier version then this does not work. Contact RA Tech Support and they can help you with the super-secret method on how to perform this operation in earlier versions.

OG
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 07:42 PM   #5
Alan Case
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

Alan Case is offline
 
Alan Case's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wagga Wagga
Posts: 1,252
And as a bit of info for other users once you have version 5 installed you cannot use the "super secret" method to re-create an apa from a mer. I keep a computer on hand with version 4 of studio loaded to allow the re-creation of version 3 & 4 mers.
Also in version 5 it is an option when you create the runtime whether you make it
a) able to be uploaded and re-created by anyone
b) able to be uploaded and re-created with password
or
c) not able to be uploaded and re-created

Regards Alan Case
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 03:57 PM   #6
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by floresv
I want to know if there is any form that I can convert a panelview plus application with the extension .mer to an application with the extension .apa
Just in case you are using an older version of RSViewME take a look here.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Recovering_a_Project_from_a_MER_File.pdf (32.5 KB, 601 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 04:05 PM   #7
jad5150
Member
United States

jad5150 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Clinton, IA
Posts: 9
I've used the "super secret" method with v4.0 to restore an application. It can be a life saver. I am running v5.0 now and I've recently restored an application created with an earlier version. So at least for me, it worked.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2008, 04:10 PM   #8
bobwithdana
Member
United States

bobwithdana is offline
 
bobwithdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: california
Posts: 223
Just keep in mind the super secret version requires you to have a runtime liscence which most persons do not have and it is not a completly plug and play solution. Always keep a current .apa prior to version 5.0
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 02:18 PM   #9
Coachman
Member
United States

Coachman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 97
Dog Question about .MER to a .APA RS View 4.0

I looked on some earlier posts and seen this method in the PDF. But on my Laptop I cannot find C:\Documents and Settings\Username
(My User Name)\Local Settings \Temp\MER.00 after I Upload.
Any ideas. Is it a log on issue.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 03:07 PM   #10
OZEE
Member
United States

OZEE is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,695
I believe the default setting for those folders is that they are hidden. In file manager, Tools > Folder Options > View. Then click "Show hidden files and folders" and deselect "Hide protected operating system files"
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 12:34 AM   #11
Gil47
Member
New Zealand

Gil47 is offline
 
Gil47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Island, NewZealand
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachman
I looked on some earlier posts and seen this method in the PDF. But on my Laptop I cannot find C:\Documents and Settings\Username
(My User Name)\Local Settings \Temp\MER.00 after I Upload.
Any ideas. Is it a log on issue.

Thanks,
This is from memory
I think the files for Me are at
C:\Documents and Settings\All users\Shared Documents\RSView Me

or also as Ozee states
  Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 12:31 PM   #12
arturodepaz
Member
El Salvador

arturodepaz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Merliot City
Posts: 2
maybe this files are hide, i made this method recently and this folders was occult, just write the directoin on the windows xplorer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachman View Post
I looked on some earlier posts and seen this method in the PDF. But on my Laptop I cannot find C:\Documents and Settings\Username
(My User Name)\Local Settings \Temp\MER.00 after I Upload.
Any ideas. Is it a log on issue.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2009, 02:29 PM   #13
erick
Member
United States

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: new york
Posts: 6
to: Arturo de Paz

Hi Arturo, my family is also from El Salvador and i am also into plc's. is there much use of plc's in El Salvador?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2009, 09:42 PM   #14
arturodepaz
Member
El Salvador

arturodepaz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Merliot City
Posts: 2
Hello Erick!, really? your family are from EL Salvador!! thatīs good, Greetings to your family, mmmm yes in El Salvador exist many industries thats works with PLC'S but not many companies that specialized in the field, at the moment i work in Ingenia, you could visit us on http://www.ingenia.com.sv
Regards
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Panelview CompactLogix Please Philadelphia Frank LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 September 26th, 2009 12:30 PM
Panelview Plus 600 reading from SLC5/03 via NET-ENI story... Jawmunji LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 20th, 2007 11:30 AM
Can't see Panelview Plus 1000 via Controlnet johnlam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 29th, 2007 12:08 AM
Compact Logix / Panelview - Tag Names Philadelphia Frank LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 3rd, 2007 02:21 PM
Delete .mer file from panelview plus blackadder_2003 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 14th, 2006 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


.