You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 3rd, 2008, 11:06 PM   #1
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
RSLogix 5000 UDT tags & C-More

Apparently, the Automation Direct C-More HMIs do not support AB UDT type tags. I couldn't read or write with the UDT tags, while all other tag types worked. I kept getting a PLC-498 error on the HMI. I went into the system screen and viewed the error events. All of the errors were caused by UDT tags. I called Automation Direct tech support and the guy I spoke to didn't know what a User Defined was. That was not a good sign. I wound up mapping my UDT tags into internal tags just for the HMI to use. I guess you get what you pay for.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 07:33 AM   #2
cjh
Member
United States

cjh is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 219
Actually they do support UDTs. I use them all the time. I 'think' they have supported them since they released the EIP Tag driver.

What exactly are you trying to read from the PLC into C-more?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 07:56 AM   #3
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
I was using several UDT tags over ethernet. They were integers. I kept getting a PLC-498 error caused by the UDT tags. The objects with those tags were dead. I called AD tech support. We went around the world looking for a solution and never found one. I created a dummy project with no UDT tags and the error went away. I had the latest firmware and software from the AD website. What version were you using? Actually, one of the suggestions from the tech support guy was to downgrade to an earlier version, which I didn't have on site. With him suggesting that I figured that the version I had didn't support the UDT tags. And honestly, I thought he was just blowing smoke when he suggested the downgrade.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 08:00 AM   #4
Oakley
Member
United States

Oakley is offline
 
Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,083
I have no experience with the c-more HMI, but your post had me inquisitive.

Did your UDT have INT or DINT data types?
How about your sample program?

This leading to the question if there was a type mismatch between the HMI and the PLC.
__________________
Artificial intelligence never overcomes natural stupidity.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 08:22 AM   #5
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
The UDT tags were mostly INT, some Float. The tags I wound up creating to work with the HMI were the same, just not UDT type.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 01:05 PM   #6
cjh
Member
United States

cjh is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 219
Maybe you could post an example of one that didn't work.
I am using the latest version but have seen no problems with other versions either.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #7
TConnolly
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TConnolly is offline
 
TConnolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 5,709
Have you tried PLC/SLC tag mapping?
__________________
True craftsmanship is only one more power tool away.

That's the beauty of processors, they don't have emotions they just run code - The PLC Kid.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 08:49 PM   #8
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
Temp_Zone <normal> UDT_Temp_Zone[9] Standard
Temp_Zone[0] UDT_Temp_Zone Standard
Temp_Zone[1] UDT_Temp_Zone Standard
Temp_Zone[1].Setpoint INT Standard Decimal Entered at HMI (50-400 degrees)
Temp_Zone[1].Actual INT Standard Decimal Thermocouple Input
Temp_Zone[1].Deviation INT Standard Decimal Difference between Actual and Setpoint

I copied these from my controller tags. The Setpoint, Actual, and Deviation were some of the ones that didn't work on the HMI. Plus, other UDT tags for my vfd amps, rpms, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 09:00 PM   #9
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
This is one of them in the HMI.

tag name: TEMP_ZONE[1].DEVIATION

PLC Address:
Memory type: INT, Address: Temp_Zone[1].Deviation
  Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2008, 11:49 AM   #10
OpZed
Member
United States

OpZed is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 46
It looks like a problem in the tag database. If I open the tag to edit it, but then just hit apply-ok then it will work fine with the PLC. Additionally, taking a peek at the exported tag database shows that DINT and INT tags have a "DataCount" of 2, but my "edited" tags have been changed to a value of 1. Maybe that's a quick workaround that will work for you also?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2008, 07:30 PM   #11
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
I would try that if I hadn't already mapped my UDT tags to simple internal tags. Thanks for looking in to it.

Give me a Panelview Plus anyday. I guess I drink the AB kool-aid.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 10:17 AM   #12
Ginger54
Member
New Zealand

Ginger54 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3
are your tags that use the UDT, defined as controller-level tags or program-level tags?
The program-level ones have to be preceded by the program name.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 06:50 PM   #13
sacsac
Member
United States

sacsac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 37
They are controller tags.

I have noticed something strange with this C-more screen. While pressing an increment/decrement button, any floating point tags on the screen other than the one being inc/dec'd stop updating until you release the button. It only happens with floating point tags, not integers.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix 5000 Controller Tags andrewke1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 8th, 2007 10:14 AM
Gray Code and RSLogix 5000 IAA LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 28th, 2007 09:27 AM
RSLogix 5000 How to duplicate tags? Barry Kirk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 15th, 2007 07:19 AM
RSLogix 5000 array tags (I/O points) Vuli LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 4th, 2006 10:14 AM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


.