You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 18th, 2008, 11:58 AM   #1
Rusty_K
Member
Canada

Rusty_K is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 73
Data Transfer from CSV File To S7-300 PLC via Ethernet

Hello Hello!

Rusty here, looking for some advice from the experts! I have just started working on a project that will
require an S7-300 PLC to extract positional data, via an Ethernet connection, from a CSV file located on a PC.
This data will then be treated by the PLC and transferred,
again via Ethernet to an ABB robot.

I was just wondering what your suggestions would be regarding the architecture. I was thinking of running WinCC on the PC server (I believe they want some type of SCADA application running on it) with the Simatic Net OPC server in the background. I could write a C or VB script to treat the CSV file and transfer the data into tags linked to the PLC. I reckon I've got the PLC to Robot connection worked out thanks again to your expertise!
( http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=41068 )

So, wondering what you guys think. I'm open to all suggestions and/or criticisms. I'll be speaking to the project manager to get an idea of the costs / budget, wondering also what you reckon of the transfer speed with a system like this.

Cheers!

R.K.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 03:36 AM   #2
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,440
Questions:

Is it the PLC that shall actively fetch the data ?
Is it an onboard PN port or is it a CP343-1 ?
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 03:55 AM   #3
GeoffC
Member
Australia

GeoffC is offline
 
GeoffC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 683
Another question
Will the csv file only be read by the one application, you will have problems if the file is opened by someone else and then your application tries to also access it. Personally I would use an sql database (Mysql or MSsql) this will allow multiple users and access by standard sql queries.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 03:59 AM   #4
Rusty_K
Member
Canada

Rusty_K is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 73
Hey Jesper!

We are still working out the details but here's my take on it:

1) CSV file will be loaded onto PC daily (not sure how yet, possibly a mapped directory or something along those lines)

2) A "Load" button on a WinCC screen will activate the reading of the CSV file and transfer the data into a DB (with some type of UDT structure) on the PLC via an OPC connection.

3)The CSV file will contain some type of product code. When a new product enters the robotic cell an RFID reader will detect the product code and the PLC will match it to the corresponding positional data

4) The corresponding positional data will be transferred via CP343-1 Lean to the ABB robot (This was recommended to me in order to save programming time..I'm not sure what complications are added if I were to use the on board PN port)

Thats pretty much what I have worked out thus far!

Cheers!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 06:17 AM   #5
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,440
Re 1-2, then this sounds like it fits a standard recipe feature. Should be doable with no special effort. Maybe a CSV file is not the best way to do it. Like Geoff suggest, then SQL is better suited, or the native recipe system in WinCC or WinCC Flexible.

Re 4, then did you get this to work ? :
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=41068
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 06:48 AM   #6
Rusty_K
Member
Canada

Rusty_K is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 73
Unfortunately, the customer is deciding how they wish to present the data to us. So far it looks as if they are locked on a CSV file. I agree, an SQL solution would be wicked!

Regarding the socket messaging, I have simply understood how it should work and set up the corresponding hardware config in Step7. We need to order the CP343 before I can test it with our in house robot. I'll let you know how it turns out!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 07:39 AM   #7
mikeatwell
Member
United States

mikeatwell is offline
 
mikeatwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 18
Are open to purchasing a small SCADA package that can do this out of the box?
__________________
Mike Atwell
michael.atwell@igearonline.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Profibus CPU315-2 DP Rafael Guedes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 3rd, 2007 07:44 AM
data transfer between s7 300 and PC tny LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 2nd, 2007 11:12 AM
How load csv data file for trending in RSView? briana banks LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 26th, 2006 02:16 PM
SLC 5/04 communication over DH+ plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 41 March 7th, 2006 07:12 AM
Searching for a S7 PLC analyzer (for collect and draw chronogram of data) Volkan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 6th, 2002 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


.