HELP DeviceNet Problems

Bryan Abbott

I am new to the programming world and need some serious help with an allen bradley devicenet system. I have been having communication issues for a while now. At first i was getting a E78 fault on 5 of 6 nodes on the network. That problem has since been pushed to the wayside as now I am recieving a no transmission fault. Please HELP.

Bryan, could be useful to know more informations about your hardware...

Which CPU?
Which Scanner?
Versions (ser. Rev. Firmware etc.)
Software used (and Versions)
What type of nodes are the two with error?

Error 78 is related to the fact that a device is in the scanlist of the scanner but it isn't responding to it...
I have found sometimes this error on Devicenet, here some ideas that have solved these issues:

1. if the slave nodes have autobaud enabled, try to disable it and fix the right network speed on them
2. raise the interscan delay in the scanner using RSNetworx to 20 ms (default is 10ms); this to try to don't get a timeout from those nodes.

- [font=comic sans ms,sans-serif]fuzzy logic[/font]

If you are getting a No TX error most likely you have a bad cable or a wire loose. Try resetting the card and resetting the power supply to see if it will clear but my hunch is that the trunk line cable near nodes 5 and 6 make have a bad connection or be damaged.

Also at the end of the main trunk line should be a terminating resistor make sure thats not blown or damaged I agree however with LJBMatt check trunk 5 and 6 reterminate there may be a bad connection there