You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 16th, 2008, 12:21 AM   #1
andydaoust
Member
United States

andydaoust is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alaska
Posts: 56
Proficy Machine Edition Software Training

I've had limited exposure to GE PLC's. The Logic Master programs seemed to be intuitive. We now have a new system of 90-30 and 90-70 plcs and Proficy Machine Edition software. It is horrible to figure out. I'm looking for a class that I can take that will help me out. It would be nice if it got into more advanced programming. Perhaps linking a basic class with an advanced class. I'm not opposed to avoiding GE. What class(es) can you suggest? What instructor have you had that has been good? Thanks!

Andy
  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 04:49 AM   #2
tomalbright
Member
United States

tomalbright is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gonzales, LA
Posts: 691
No classes to recommend, sorry. I used Versapro and Logicmaster prior to getting Proficy. I am NOT a "GE guy"! Proficy is basically Versapro, you can even look in the directories for Proficy and it's there as Versapro. However, the Proficy environment, I find, is very, very easy to use for ladder logic. The programming is easy to do, and the in-program help is amazing.

A class might help you, but if you know Logicmaster, you shouldn't have much problem. Starting a new project might be the hardest, lol.
__________________
"We really don't care how you program your PLC, just don't blow yourself up!"
www.GeekQuake.com Also on Facebook!

  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 06:14 AM   #3
cjd1965
Member
United Kingdom

cjd1965 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Hi



On CD2 you will find some tutorial movies.
I didnt like them myself so only watched about 1 minute of the first so cannot say if they are 'good'
  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 07:09 AM   #4
rkicklighter
Member
United States

rkicklighter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 73
Here is a link to the GEF training website,

http://www.gefanuc.com/as_en/service...thamerica.html

Check there for training and check with your local distributor. Many times distributors will have general introductory classes.

I have been using GEF since the mid 1980's and have seen the software evolve from LM6 to the current Proficy Machine Edition, believe me PME is the best so far. It does have it's share of issues, but what software doesn't.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 06:17 PM   #5
dYoast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dYoast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 165
The movies may give you some introduction. The paper introductory manual is also on CD2 in pdf format. This helped me get started with the software.

What helped me to learn the software was converting all of our programs from both VersaPro and LM90. You will probably generate errors in the conversions, all of which are correctable.

If you have questions, there are a some quite knowledgeable people who hang out at this forum and the GE forum for Machine Edition.

Once you get the hang of Machine Edition, you will find it easier and more powerful than LM90.

Good Luck!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 06:15 AM   #6
GE_Plcs_are_Love
Member
United States

GE_Plcs_are_Love is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 25
I find the interface to be common sense.

What are you having trouble with?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 02:32 PM   #7
andydaoust
Member
United States

andydaoust is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alaska
Posts: 56
Hi Everyone,

I've been dealing mostly with AB, Opto22, GE MK5 and 6. My LM experience was from the DOS days. I think I need to spend time with the Movies. I did print out the pdf.

My company wants to send me for training. I thought maybe someone on the board has had an exceptional experience with some training company or instructor.

Thank you everyone for your responses.


GE Plcs are Love.

We are having control issues and I cannot see what is happening because we are not = on the hardware or the program. The OEM didn't leave us with the latest logic.

Can I upload the program and get all the comments? Are they stored in the processor?

There is also Versamax remote i/o. How do I get from the logic world to the screw on the NIU?

These are the current issues. I'm trying to find someone to email the current logic.


Thanks,

Andy
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 02:47 PM   #8
GE_Plcs_are_Love
Member
United States

GE_Plcs_are_Love is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Retreiving Logic

Yes, but its not complete with comments, but you can get the Logic out

when connected to the PLC selected Target.Online Commands.Verify Equality

This will tell you if the two are legitimately NE

If its still NE then make a new project then selected Target.Download "Project" from PLC

This will give you a project with only IO Variables as names and Comment Place holders.

what you want to do is go into your original program right click on the Processor icon at the top of your Variables tab and select Export.

open your New project and in your New projects Variables tab right click on "Variable List" and import.

This will superimpose the authentic variable list into your New projects variable list.

If anything didnt make sense or you need further clarification let me know and ill take screenshots of the process

Last edited by GE_Plcs_are_Love; November 17th, 2008 at 02:50 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 03:10 PM   #9
GE_Plcs_are_Love
Member
United States

GE_Plcs_are_Love is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Proficy Inter PLC Communication methods

For your versamax remote IO let me restate what i assume you meant

You have a remote PLC connected to the network that you want both PLC's to communicate?

If this is what you meant you'll want to use Proficy's EGD function
in the "Project" Tab right click on the processor and select Add Component select "Ethernet Global Data"

It will need to be put on Both PLC's

If thats not allowed on the Versamax processor your using you'll want to use a Comm_Req which you can find in the GE TCP/IP User manual
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 03:18 PM   #10
cjd1965
Member
United Kingdom

cjd1965 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Hi, Dont you mean Target -> UPLOAD FROM PLC



Quote:
Originally Posted by GE_Plcs_are_Love
Yes, but its not complete with comments, but you can get the Logic out

when connected to the PLC selected Target.Online Commands.Verify Equality

This will tell you if the two are legitimately NE

If its still NE then make a new project then selected Target.Download "Project" from PLC

This will give you a project with only IO Variables as names and Comment Place holders.

what you want to do is go into your original program right click on the Processor icon at the top of your Variables tab and select Export.

open your New project and in your New projects Variables tab right click on "Variable List" and import.

This will superimpose the authentic variable list into your New projects variable list.

If anything didnt make sense or you need further clarification let me know and ill take screenshots of the process
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 03:52 PM   #11
GE_Plcs_are_Love
Member
United States

GE_Plcs_are_Love is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Yep sorry, trying to do this off the top of my head
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 06:28 PM   #12
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 5,059
Andy,

For your remote I/O we need to know what network your system uses. The most popular would be Genius, Ethernet Global Data (EGD), Profibus, or DeviceNet. The details of mapping the I/O modules to PLC variables will be found in hardware configuration. Tell us which network you're using and whether the network controller is a 90-30 or a 90-70 system and we can give you more detailed instructions on how to work out the mapping. We can also give you the publication numbers of the manuals that you should download. They're all available at the GE Fanuc website.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 01:14 AM   #13
andydaoust
Member
United States

andydaoust is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alaska
Posts: 56
The remote I/O is devicenet and Genius Bus. The processor is 90-70.

I've been working on something else right now so I'll be a while figuring this out. I'll take all your advice and read the publications and do the tutorials.

Thanks,

Andy
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2013, 03:22 PM   #14
luisanco
Member
Peru

luisanco is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 3
hello, I have a question:
I have uploaded the actual program from my CPU GE 341, we know that this program doesn't have any comments (empty comments)
I have founded two days ago the original program from this CPU GE 341 and this program has the original comments.
The original program have had some changes over time, and the question is:
How can I transfer only "the comments" from the original program to the actual program ?
I was trying using Export & Import Variables ...the results are not good, btw I'm using proficy Machine Edition 6.5
Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2013, 03:42 PM   #15
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 5,059
In the GE Series 90-30 PLC the comment text does not reside in the PLC, only the placeholder to indicate that there is a comment in the project file. You will need to open the original project file, then go online with the PLC and upload. That's not a foolproof process because if the file you open differs too much from what is in the PLC, you could lose the comment text. Be sure you make a backup of the original file before uploading.
If you don't have a copy of the project file containing the comment text, you're out of luck.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory talk view studio Machine edition cornbread LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 April 29th, 2012 01:05 AM
Machine Edition 4.0 / VersaMax CPU101 Comm ThanatosCV66 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 30th, 2003 09:22 AM
Learn SFC by FX training software Platootod LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 19th, 2003 08:58 PM
Training of S5/S7 software vnkarwa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 3rd, 2003 07:02 AM
Cimplicity machine edition log on labingtone LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 23rd, 2002 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


.