Modicon M340 Addressing and Modbus Question

tonofsteel

Hello all,

I working on laying out I/O for a program in a M340 processor with remote Advantys IO drops. I am more familiar with a momentum processor and this is my first project with a M340.

For the momentum all I/O needed to be mapped to specific addresses (0000x 1000x 3000x 4000x) Then you could use 0000x addresses for bit data that could be read and written to from an iFIX HMI, and 4000x addresses for word data that could be read and written to from an iFIX HMI.

I notice that there are %I, %Q, %M, %MW (and many more) in Unity and from another post I had obtained this information:

Vijeo wants the address in modbus format (0xxxx = outputs, 1xxxx = inputs 4xxxx = registers)
so
address in unity %qxxxx and in vijeo 0xxxx(+1) for example %q0008 would be 00009
address in unity %ixxxx and in vijeo 1xxxx(+1) for example %i0008 would be 10009
address in unity %mwxxxx and in vijeo 4xxxx(+1) for example %mw0008 would be 40009
The offset is because modbus addresses start at 1 while iec addressing starts at 0

If I try to use %Q for internal bits it will not allow me. If I try to use %M for internal BOOL bit data it will not let me, however I can use EBOOL which I am not familiar with so I have no idea what the consequences would be.

I am confused about which addressing I should be using and which data types I should be using. I have been reading what I could find on these topics but what I have found was patchy.