You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 21st, 2009, 01:42 PM   #1
vkolluru
Member
United States

vkolluru is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 16
FactoryTalk View ME/SE .APA vs .MER

I understand the .apa file is a application archive file and .mer is a runtime file and I even know how to make them.

I can create them as well as restore an application from both formats using application manager.

Then what are the pros/cons of creating an apa AND mer files.
Can we just keep making some .mer files and forget about the .apa feature.

Seeking some good insight. Thanks in advance.

-Vikram
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 03:44 PM   #2
mgvol
Member
United States

mgvol is offline
 
mgvol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 746
The .mer file is the compiled runtime file that is actually loaded into the PanelView Plus. The .APA is the archived back-up; since you cannot uncomplie a .mer file and edit it, it is a good idea to keep a back-up of the entire project file (.APA).
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 03:55 PM   #3
vkolluru
Member
United States

vkolluru is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 16
This may have been a feature missing in previous versions, but with FactoryTalk View ME (RSView ME 5.0), user can restore the whole application using a .mer file and do whatever changes he/she wants to do and create a new .mer/.apa rename, backup etc etc

Thats why I questioned what is the use of .apa after the latest version.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 04:18 PM   #4
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,633
I am on V5 FT and last time i converted a mer at a customers to do some edits not everything converted, from memory the things that messed up were the comms.
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 04:44 PM   #5
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 2,937
That sounds right. The comm set-up is not part of the .mer file so you won't get that back. I also thought there was something with either alarms or recipes that didn't come back quite right either but I may be off on that one.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2009, 12:24 PM   #6
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamenges View Post
That sounds right. The comm set-up is not part of the .mer file so you won't get that back. I also thought there was something with either alarms or recipes that didn't come back quite right either but I may be off on that one.

Keith
Alarms rings a bell...
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:27 AM   #7
Mrgumbo
Member
United States

Mrgumbo is offline
 
Mrgumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 42
I believe if you tried to "extract" and rebuild a .MED file from a .MER file with earlier versions of RS View, you would lose the alarms and the comm settings. I feel it's good practice and really not too much trouble to save a .APA file with the latest version. Kind of like leaving a spare key under the mat when you have locked yourself out, so to speak. I am fighting a situation now where I wished the previous programmer had left the .apa files, or at least put in a "goto configure screen" button. It would make changing the IP adresses much easier.
__________________
Fred
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 09:47 AM   #8
vkolluru
Member
United States

vkolluru is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 16
Mrgumbo,
Which version of FTView or RSView do you have? If you have the latest, then, you may use the transfer utility to delete the existing app on the Panelview, reboot the Panelview and you will get to the IP addres setting.

If you do wish to modify the app to include this config button, then FTView studio does give you the option to save it in earlier versions.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2009, 09:08 PM   #9
lendyck
Member
Canada

lendyck is offline
 
lendyck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 59
I've attached a PDF that lists the limitations of trying to "uncompile" an MER file.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Recovering a Project from MER File.pdf (27.5 KB, 448 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 10:35 AM   #10
pandersen
Member
United States

pandersen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 113
As it says in the first post, .mer files are for runtime and .apa files are for archives. Stick with what each is supposed to do. Rockwell wouldn't create two file types if they served the same purpose (I hope! )

I usually keep the latest runtime and incremental backups of the apa files.
__________________
Build a man a fire, and he will be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 11:41 AM   #11
realolman
Member
United States

realolman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: here
Posts: 279
Any particular reason why Rockwell could not make software that would COMPLETELY restore a project ?....

Or would that take too much time away from making sure you cant activate it on more than one computer?... no wait... that doesn't work either.

Last edited by realolman; May 10th, 2009 at 11:44 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 11:47 AM   #12
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 5,105
Think of things needed in a development package - history of revisions for one - which would not be needed in the current runtime. The runtime should be just large enough to hold what is needed to run. The extra storage in a display just to hold information the runtime doesn't need would add unneeded costs. If you fear loosing the source then protect it. If you are a customer demand the source as part of a project. Then protect it for the valuable thing it is with multiple backups and proper revision control.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockwell FactoryTalk View SE V4 Schema fails mcummins LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 11th, 2010 09:06 AM
Slow alarms in FactoryTalk View SE Alarms and Events Marie1982 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 18th, 2008 03:10 PM
Device Based Alarming in FactoryTalk View SE stuofsci02 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 11th, 2008 02:25 PM
Factorytalk View Studio - PV+ 504bloke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 January 12th, 2008 10:36 AM
Converting .mer file to .apa WireGuy1950 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 June 14th, 2007 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


.