You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 5th, 2009, 03:43 PM   #1
ndecks
Member
United States

ndecks is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Memphis
Posts: 13
PLC to SQL

I have a photo eye connected to a PLC. Iíd like the know every time the photo eye does not see a box after letís say 5 minutes. I want that information to be dumped into our SQL server so that we can trend it.
How do I do that.
Thanks in advance for the help.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 03:53 PM   #2
KP_EENG
Member
United States

KP_EENG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 205
There are a couple of ways to go:

1. You can develop a custom VB application and use an OPC .net control to interface with the PLC and have VB populate your SQL database.

2. You can develop a custom VB app and use an OPC Server like Kepware or Ingear. This is more programming intensive.

3. Software Toolbox offers a data historian that can log data to a SQL server database. This requires no programming, only configuration.

Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 03:57 PM   #3
KP_EENG
Member
United States

KP_EENG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 205
Here is a link to the software toolbox OPC Data Logger:
http://www.softwaretoolbox.com/store...mpage_1000.asp
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2009, 02:19 AM   #4
surferb
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

surferb is offline
 
surferb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Naples, Italy
Posts: 1,735
Try FactorySQL. BTW, don't develop a custom application for data logging unless you're a proficient programmer. Even then, the problem's been solved - don't go there.
__________________
Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, CCVP/CCNA, MCSE, VCP
"Design Simplicity Cures Engineered Complexity"
Sierra Nevada Brewery MES/ERP case study - 5 minute video, My comments
Comment on Not another industrial software Blog
Ignition by Inductive Automation, rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing 2 minute video
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2009, 04:13 AM   #5
JoLa
Member
Sweden

JoLa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Varnamo
Posts: 1
TwinCAT

I would go for a Beckhoff PLC with the additional database library.
It simply connects the PLC directly with your database
www.beckhoff.com
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2009, 12:05 PM   #6
adrielmichaud
Member
Canada

adrielmichaud is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 35
Opc

An OPC Server for your PLC, plus a SQL data logging utility will do the job.
__________________
Adriel Michaud
MatrikonOPC
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 07:22 AM   #7
mikeatwell
Member
United States

mikeatwell is offline
 
mikeatwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 18
I don't know if you are still looking for an answer. I agree with surferb, don't do a custom VB/C# app. There are tools out there that are more robust.
What type of PLC do you have? RSSQL from Rockwell can do Allen-Bradley to SQL Server. I/Gear (www.igearonline.com) has a product that is more versatile; it can connect to any PLC through an OPC server and any database or text file.
__________________
Mike Atwell
michael.atwell@igearonline.com
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:55 AM   #8
plc noob
Member
United States

plc noob is offline
 
plc noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: atlanta , georgia
Posts: 258
Smile

I use this http://www.oldi.com/xcoupler_index.htm

No pc to worry with no software crashes and no losing data,etc.

In the past i used RsSql for this which works well once it is setup but when you get a bad windows update for .net or your IT guy decides to install their newest untested **** then getting data collection back running is on you.

Also you don't have to worry about a forklift taking out the data collection pc. That happened to me a couple times.

Sheesh.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 12:34 PM   #9
surferb
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

surferb is offline
 
surferb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Naples, Italy
Posts: 1,735
forklift !?!? - don't you guys have cabinets or air conditioned control rooms for PCs? All you need to run is a single Ethernet cable between the data logger and your "danger zone" - I imagine a situation with PCs on the floor and PLCs dangling from equipment on wires...

Quote:
Originally Posted by plc noob View Post
I use this http://www.oldi.com/xcoupler_index.htm

No pc to worry with no software crashes and no losing data,etc.

In the past i used RsSql for this which works well once it is setup but when you get a bad windows update for .net or your IT guy decides to install their newest untested **** then getting data collection back running is on you.

Also you don't have to worry about a forklift taking out the data collection pc. That happened to me a couple times.

Sheesh.
__________________
Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, CCVP/CCNA, MCSE, VCP
"Design Simplicity Cures Engineered Complexity"
Sierra Nevada Brewery MES/ERP case study - 5 minute video, My comments
Comment on Not another industrial software Blog
Ignition by Inductive Automation, rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing 2 minute video
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 02:40 PM   #10
plc noob
Member
United States

plc noob is offline
 
plc noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: atlanta , georgia
Posts: 258
Talking

Most plants have pcís on the floor for production use.

At least a thin client. Kinda hard to let production have access when it is all in the control room?

I donít know about you but we donít want everyone in and out of the server rooms and closets

The pcís are in airconditioned kiosk type enclosures and some are thin clients but a bad lift driver will destroy cabinet and all.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 03:14 PM   #11
NACarnes
Member
United States

NACarnes is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Port Huron, MI
Posts: 38
AMEN Brother!!! Operators,PCs and forklifts... bad, bad combination!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 04:53 PM   #12
surferb
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

surferb is offline
 
surferb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Naples, Italy
Posts: 1,735
I know...was being facetious. But on a more serious note, the servers, databases, and data loggers (central aspects) should be off the floor. The clients might be fork lift accessible, but that needn't stop your process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by plc noob View Post
Most plants have pcís on the floor for production use.

At least a thin client. Kinda hard to let production have access when it is all in the control room?

I donít know about you but we donít want everyone in and out of the server rooms and closets

The pcís are in airconditioned kiosk type enclosures and some are thin clients but a bad lift driver will destroy cabinet and all.
__________________
Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, CCVP/CCNA, MCSE, VCP
"Design Simplicity Cures Engineered Complexity"
Sierra Nevada Brewery MES/ERP case study - 5 minute video, My comments
Comment on Not another industrial software Blog
Ignition by Inductive Automation, rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing 2 minute video
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 07:09 PM   #13
plc noob
Member
United States

plc noob is offline
 
plc noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: atlanta , georgia
Posts: 258
Smile

Before I started working here some genius decided to put the data collection and hmi server machines in the same kiosk stand as the production pcís to save money by not having to run cat 5 back to the nearest server room.

They may have saved a few bucks upfront but there are too many pcís in one enclosure and the cooling system canít keep up so we lose pcís a lot in this application due to heat.

I have tried several times to get it changed to no limit. I guess they just like buying new pcís
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 07:18 PM   #14
surferb
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

surferb is offline
 
surferb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Naples, Italy
Posts: 1,735
Lol - classic!

Quote:
Originally Posted by plc noob View Post
Before I started working here some genius decided to put the data collection and hmi server machines in the same kiosk stand as the production pcís to save money by not having to run cat 5 back to the nearest server room.
__________________
Nathan Boeger, CISSP-ISSAP, CCVP/CCNA, MCSE, VCP
"Design Simplicity Cures Engineered Complexity"
Sierra Nevada Brewery MES/ERP case study - 5 minute video, My comments
Comment on Not another industrial software Blog
Ignition by Inductive Automation, rethinking SCADA for modern manufacturing 2 minute video
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2011, 01:33 PM   #15
SCADA_Dude
Member
United States

SCADA_Dude is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 115
WAGO PLC's

WAGO Ethernet PLC's can communicate directly with a MySQL database. It does not require any middleware like an OPC server or modbus driver.
Here's a video tutorial showing how it's done.
http://youtu.be/0isTiU06bbA

WAGO site:
http://www.wago.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens 417-H PLC problem paperboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 16th, 2011 06:16 PM
PC to PLC Protocol TheRixta LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 December 17th, 2008 12:56 PM
Lightening effect on PLC patelbaroda LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 27th, 2007 08:53 PM
PLC with no mains supply Goody LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 4th, 2003 11:18 AM
Normally open or closed or... Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 February 3rd, 2003 07:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


.