You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 7th, 2009, 04:36 PM   #1
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Exclamation Automation Problem (Electro-pneumatic).Ladder diagram using Automation Studio 5.0

Hello everyone,i am a final year student.I would like to ask help for my final year project:

This is the problem:
The system shown is used for packing tins of paint into cardboard boxes. Every operation of actuator A insert tine of paint in the loading magazine. Actuator B then places a row of five tins into the box. The box is full after three rows of tins is pushed into the box. The sequenced is initiated by a START PB and the required cycle is {[(A+A-)x5]+(B+B-)}x3.The image is down there:



Ive use the Automation Studio 5.0 to help me with the simulation.I am using a method similar to cascade method but for electro-pneumatic called Method A.

First. I create the ladder diagram for the sequence A+A- (without the counter )
Same goes to the sequence B+B-


Then I add the counter to the sequence A+A-.The sequence now will repeat 5 times.


Later on I did some modification to the last ladder diagram and combine it with the sequence B+B- .Here where the problem is.



After the completing the sequence A+A- for 5 times,it will start the B+B- sequence.Problem is the B+B- sequence wont stop running (only if I stop the simulation)..

Can anyone help me with this?

  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 04:56 PM   #2
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,230
Does "B" stop if you press the start button?
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:00 PM   #3
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Yep, Actuator B will stop if I press the 2nd START button.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:05 PM   #4
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucinggemok View Post
Yep, Actuator B will stop if I press the 2nd START button.
Is that the desired action you want from that button push?
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:10 PM   #5
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Actually no.The START as far as I know is to RESET the counter.Correct me if I'm wrong.Because you see the sequence A+A- has to be repeated 5times and the sequence B+B- will follow and the whole sequence is to be repeated three times. I now stuck at programming the first sequence.Huhu.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:12 PM   #6
alanMICS
Member
United States

alanMICS is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hastings Nebraska
Posts: 59
according to the diagram you have not added a counter to B+B- sequence to tell it when to stop.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:18 PM   #7
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanMICS View Post
according to the diagram you have not added a counter to B+B- sequence to tell it when to stop.
okay.I will try,but where should I put the counter, because AFAIK if I want to add a counter in the ladder diagram I need to add additional contacts and limit switch so it can function properly.And I dont know where should I put this too. >_<
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:19 PM   #8
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucinggemok View Post
Actually no.The START as far as I know is to RESET the counter.Correct me if I'm wrong.
Well maybe, depends on how you want to accomplish the task.

It is possible to use more than one action to reset your counter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kucinggemok View Post
Because you see the sequence A+A- has to be repeated 5times and the sequence B+B- will follow and the whole sequence is to be repeated three times.
Just how are you going to do the "three times" thing? I only see 1 counter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kucinggemok View Post
I now stuck at programming the first sequence.Huhu.
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:26 PM   #9
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by milldrone View Post
Well maybe, depends on how you want to accomplish the task.

It is possible to use more than one action to reset your counter.



Just how are you going to do the "three times" thing? I only see 1 counter.
For the "three times" thing, I havent finished yet with the programming coz I still stuck with the sequence B+B- .
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:43 PM   #10
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucinggemok View Post
For the "three times" thing, I havent finished yet with the programming coz I still stuck with the sequence B+B- .
This quote partially explains your problem. You have not thought this problem all the way to the end. You need to make a flow chart of the problem. Or perhaps number the "steps" in your description. Then translate into ladder.

PS. You still need to reset your first counter to stop "B" from forever cycling.

alanMICS,

I'm sorry, you posted while I was posting. Forgive me!
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 05:25 AM   #11
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Hello guys,thanks for the input/suggestion gives to me in previous post.

As for the programming, I now managed to program the sequence
[(A+A-)x5]B+B- --> Sequence A+A- will run for 5 times and followed by B+B- sequence which will run once.

This is how I did the programming after several try.

1. I program the sequence A+A- with the 5 times counter
2. I program separately the sequence B+B- with the 1 time counter
This is the image of the programming for actuator A and actuator B

3. I then combine both module A and module B and run the program.It works!
Below is the image of the ladder diagram


But I havent achieved what should I get,I now has to repeated all the sequence stated above in this post for three times. Can anyone give me any Ideas how should I repeat the sequence for three times? I already tried to add another counter (with the programming I know) for this purpose but it wont work!Did I wrongly programmed it? But please can anyone here help me with this problem? I already make a sequence diagram for this problem to ease me in the program but still i cant program it properly.(I dont have any Idea more to complete it!)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 06:00 AM   #12
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,230
kucinggemok,

I could not view your combined ladder.

Hint: To do something once you do not need a counter, just a done bit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pnu.jpg (66.5 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.

Last edited by milldrone; April 8th, 2009 at 06:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 08:06 AM   #13
kucinggemok
Member
Malaysia

kucinggemok is offline
 
kucinggemok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perak
Posts: 7
Hi milldrone. did you click the image?
According to your instruction above, does that mean the sequence will be something like this ----> (A+A-B+B-)x3 ? Because my aim is to get this kind of sequence {[(A+A-)x5]B+B-}x3 .

Ive been thinking now to create another ladder diagram with 2 counter in it but with a simpler sequence just to see how i can solve this. Maybe this kind of sequence [(A+A-)x3]x5.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 09:29 AM   #14
milldrone
Member
United States

milldrone is offline
 
milldrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: in the dog house
Posts: 1,230
kucinggemok,

1.start routine
2.Stroke A+A- return
3.Add one count to the counter.
4.After 5 strokes inhibit A+A- until B+B- has stroked
5.Stroke B+B-
6.As soon as B+B- has done one stroke & return allow A+A- to do it's 5 stroke thing
7.Add one count to the BB counter
8.As soon as the BB counter has accumulated 3 strokes stop the process
__________________
Vaughn

If you can read this, thank a teacher.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory View Studio ME 5.0 and XP SP3 DaveW LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 22nd, 2008 12:25 AM
Problem with Automation License Manager ElectroSeb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 14th, 2007 11:21 PM
Need a rough calculation: Cylinder to Servomotor: piscis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 November 29th, 2006 12:57 AM
Automation Studio ste1171 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 October 15th, 2004 09:31 AM
Learn Automation System by Automation Studio Platootod LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 2nd, 2003 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


.