You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 13th, 2009, 12:30 PM   #1
junior
Member
United States

junior is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Upgrading RSLogix & RSLinx

I have a client that has RSLogix 500 v4.3 Standard & RSLinx v2.3 Professional. I need to upgrade their RSLogix 500 to v 8.1 standard because they bought some new processors and v4.3 is not compatible with them. Do I need to upgrade both RSLogix & RSLinx? If I only upgrade the RSLogix then the RSLogix will be at CPR9 but the RSLinx will be at a version even before the CPR releases.

Also, since they already purchased these two software packages, they already have activations for them. Is there a cheaper way to upgrade them without spending money for full new packages?

TIA
Jr.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 12:49 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,532
If your customers already has a license for RSLogix and RSLinx Professional, all they need to qualify for software updates is a TechConnect support contract. Even the "eConnect" contract qualifies them for updates on all of their software.

Yes, you should update RSLinx as well as RSLogix so that you can support all new processors (you need RSLinx 2.54 to support the MicroLogix 1400, for example).
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 01:49 PM   #3
junior
Member
United States

junior is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Thanks Ken,
My client has bought their software through my company, do you know if I can upgrade my clients software with my companys TechConnect support contract? or can I only update the software that my company owns?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 04:00 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,532
I'm not sure if there's any restriction in the Terms of Use or software license about using Tech Connect to update software for which the licenses are owned by others.

There's nothing in the software you download that prevents it from being used on any computer. The licenses stay on the customer's PC (they'll be old-fashioned EVRSI licenses) and you just install the updated software.

I have several OEM and Integrator customers who provide this kind of "pass-through" software update support for end users who don't have their own support staff or contracts. For this reason I'm particularly stringent on enforcing their support renewals.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 04:03 PM   #5
mgvol
Member
United States

mgvol is offline
 
mgvol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 746
You can only get software "Qualified for Updates" if it is registered to you and listed as in-support on your TechConnect agreement. Either your customer will need to purchase some level of TechConnect, or they will have to transfer ownership of the software back to your company. If you purchased the software and then sold it to them, did you transfer registration to them? The reason I ask is: I deal with TechConnects all day long, and many machine builders'/OEM's forget that last step, and I wind up telling my customers to get them to send in a registration transfer request. If you know their serial #'s, have your local distributor check PASSPORT (Rockwell system) to see who they are registered to. If they are still registered to you and are in-support, you can upgrade the software and THEN transfer the registration. If thye are only unsing RSLinx Lite, it can be downloaded for free w/o a TechConnect.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 04:06 PM   #6
mgvol
Member
United States

mgvol is offline
 
mgvol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 746
Ken, he can do what you suggested, as long as it is supported on his TechConnect, and he is comfortable passing the updates to his customer. All it cares about when you "Qualify for Updates" on the download site is: Correct last name of the regstered user and the serial number is supported on that user's support agreement.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 07:33 PM   #7
junior
Member
United States

junior is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgvol View Post
You can only get software "Qualified for Updates" if it is registered to you and listed as in-support on your TechConnect agreement. Either your customer will need to purchase some level of TechConnect, or they will have to transfer ownership of the software back to your company. If you purchased the software and then sold it to them, did you transfer registration to them? The reason I ask is: I deal with TechConnects all day long, and many machine builders'/OEM's forget that last step, and I wind up telling my customers to get them to send in a registration transfer request. If you know their serial #'s, have your local distributor check PASSPORT (Rockwell system) to see who they are registered to. If they are still registered to you and are in-support, you can upgrade the software and THEN transfer the registration. If thye are only unsing RSLinx Lite, it can be downloaded for free w/o a TechConnect.
We bought the software from Rockwell for our client, and when we purchased it, Rockwell asked us who the registered user would be and the software got registered under my clients company name, so my client is the registered user.

I made a mistake, my company has the e-connect contract and not the TechConnect contract. I think they're basically the same except the e-connect doesn't have the phone support.

My client is willing to spend the money for new software, but I'm trying to see if there's a cheaper way to get it done.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2009, 06:34 AM   #8
euipfacil
Member
United States

euipfacil is offline
 
euipfacil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kunshan China at the moment
Posts: 53
Your client needs to contact Rockwell software and purchase a service contract which will allow them to update their software as needed. This is what I did and turns out it was a good move as I had a hard drive crash lost my software and had to re-download both rslinx and rs500 from website. Not so expensive and well worth the money!
LR
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSlinx Lite and RSLogix 500 Starter... FREE geniusintraining LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 February 24th, 2012 05:11 PM
RSlinx 2.53 with Vista support available Contr_Conn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 4th, 2008 07:56 AM
RSLinx problem registering definitions from PIUNSOL.INI Koos LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 13th, 2008 10:23 PM
Rslinx single node with RSlogix 500 Cryogen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 8th, 2007 06:38 AM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 05:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


.