You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 5th, 2009, 05:42 PM   #1
asterof
Member
Ajman

asterof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Califonia
Posts: 542
Replacing a MicroLogix 1500 with a CompactLogix L43

I am converting a Micrologix 1500 PLC with 16 modules
eight of which are the WIDE style modules installed
on an extension buss.
I am upgrading to a Compactlogix L43 so I can add Controlnet
I/O to the system. I can not figure out or find documentation
on what is used as an adapter to convert from the large
buss connector on the ConmpactLogix PLC to the small black
buss connector on the Micrologix 1500 Buss
I am thinking I will need to have a
1. CompactLogix Power Supply
2. CompactLogix Ethernet Adapter
3. CompactLogix CNB Module
4. CompactLogix to Micrologix Buss Adapter
5. Cable to Micrologix Buss Extender Adapter.
6. Reuse the origional first buss
7. Cable to the origional second buss.

so what am I missing and how far am I off
thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 05:55 PM   #2
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by asterof View Post
I am converting a Micrologix 1500 PLC with 16 modules
eight of which are the WIDE style modules installed
on an extension buss.
I am upgrading to a Compactlogix L43 so I can add Controlnet
I/O to the system. I can not figure out or find documentation
on what is used as an adapter to convert from the large
buss connector on the ConmpactLogix PLC to the small black
buss connector on the Micrologix 1500 Buss
I am thinking I will need to have a
1. CompactLogix Power Supply
2. CompactLogix Ethernet Adapter
3. CompactLogix CNB Module
4. CompactLogix to Micrologix Buss Adapter
5. Cable to Micrologix Buss Extender Adapter.
6. Reuse the origional first buss
7. Cable to the origional second buss.

so what am I missing and how far am I off
thanks
Going by memory here (not a good thing) you do not need an adapter or bus.
The I/O modules should go on the right side and as soon as the side connector slides in you pull the top tab and lock it into place.
You still need the ECR (I assume the right side end plate) to complete your buss.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 06:02 PM   #3
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,093
As bkottaras says 1769 modules on the right side 1768 modules on the left side.
See PDF below.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ModulePlacement.pdf (183.8 KB, 69 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 06:18 PM   #4
asterof
Member
Ajman

asterof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Califonia
Posts: 542
how

how is that posible
the Compactlogix PLC and Powersupply use a very wide buss connector
the Micrologix 1769 IO use a small black connector for their buss
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 09:08 AM   #5
mellis
Member
United States

mellis is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 802
Not sure what your issue is...

As bkottaras and Mickey said, the L43 has two bus connectors. One for 1768 modules (new CompactLogix only stuff) to the left of the processor and one for 1769 (old MicroLogix 1500 stuff) to the right of the processor. The standard I/O modules for CompactLogix *are* MicroLogix 1500.

What are the catalog numbers of the I/O modules you are using? "Wide Style" doesn't really tell me much. The analog input modules we are using are wider than the digital modules but they use the same bus.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 09:52 AM   #6
asterof
Member
Ajman

asterof is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Califonia
Posts: 542
I see the solution

Just got the PLC in today
I see what you are saying
there is a wide buss on the left and the small black buss
on the right. It all seems very clear now
thanks all
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 10:15 AM   #7
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,093
Your Welcome
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 01:39 PM   #8
PLCMentor
Member
United States

PLCMentor is offline
 
PLCMentor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Carolinas
Posts: 170
I guess I am a little late jumping in on this, but I think I understand your reason for using the L4x series is to get on controlnet. I have never used the L4x series, but my understanding is that it is geared towards motion control. There are controlnet versions of the L3x stuff so I would not look at that alone as a reason to use the L4x.

Russell
__________________
Russell White, P.E.
Automation Technologies, Inc.
PLCMentor.com
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 06:02 PM   #9
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLCMentor View Post
I guess I am a little late jumping in on this, but I think I understand your reason for using the L4x series is to get on controlnet. I have never used the L4x series, but my understanding is that it is geared towards motion control. There are controlnet versions of the L3x stuff so I would not look at that alone as a reason to use the L4x.

Russell
L43 is a motion control capable PLC.
I agree with you, if there's no need for motion and only need to utilize exisiting hardware, th L3x models may all you need.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downloading to a MicroLogix 1500 SSO LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 1st, 2008 04:51 PM
Newb - working with MicroLogix 1500 and Modicon Quantum PLC work_term_guy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 17th, 2007 09:15 PM
New MicroLogix 1500 vs Existing SLC 5/04 + 1747-SN + Flex IO wildswing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 September 27th, 2006 01:06 PM
Micrologix 1500 to PLC5 msg command jrs2563 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 9th, 2006 08:55 PM
PID for MicroLogix 1500 - conversion issues ... Ron Beaufort LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 8th, 2005 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


.