You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 14th, 2009, 07:09 PM   #1
DenisfromBalti
Member
United States

DenisfromBalti is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 9
How to go to the terminal config screen on PanelView Plus 600

Hi, im trying to go to the config mode on PanelView Plus 600 series A rev. B, but have no luck. Somebody downloaded his own application with no go to config screen button in it, so when it powers up application automatically runs, and u cant go to config screen.
Tried to establish communication via Ethernet, but dont know its ip address..
Tried to establish communication via RS-232 printer port using NC-13 cable, RSLinx doesnt see it or doesnt want to see it..
Tried to update firmware with a COMPACT FLASH UPDATE CARD, during the update process error appears "not enough space, please remove current applications"
Does anybody know how to solve it????!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 08:56 PM   #2
danny.michael
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

danny.michael is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 204
Plug a keyboard into the USB port and press the Ctrl, Shift, Alt, and Windows key simultaneously.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2009, 10:01 PM   #3
SMOKE
Member
United States

SMOKE is offline
 
SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East and West of Kaos
Posts: 475
Touch Only Screens: Press and hold the box until the unit boots to config mode.
Keypad Only Screens: Hold the F1 key until the unit boots to config mode.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 06:54 AM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,870
If the method offered by smoke does not work, you can download a utility from ab.com that you can put on a memory card and it will force the PV to the config screen on power up.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 10:37 AM   #5
DenisfromBalti
Member
United States

DenisfromBalti is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 9
There is no white box to press and hold during boot process, i think because of the firmware ( too old)
Pluged in a keyboard as SMOKE adviced, and got access to PanelView Transfer Utility, and there were 2 ways to download serial and Ethernet, tried serial, had no luck, seems like this PV hates serial type connection
Tried ethernet, communication established but only with Firware Upgrade Utility, finally again "not enough space message" appeared.
File Download and Upload utility (part of RSView Studio) that what i would use to delete application doesnt communicate with PV i dont knw why... RSLinx doesnt see PV when Ethernet driver is running.
So i decided to do next:
1. find a smaller firmware that can be downloaded to PV without not enough space message.
2. find a utility on ab.com to force the PV to go to config screen
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 11:48 AM   #6
DUNK
Member
United States

DUNK is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: south carolina
Posts: 76
As it boots you should see a little white box pop up on the lower left hand corner of the screen. When this pops up just touch it and it should go into config mode.
__________________
PROGRAMMABLE WHAT?!?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 11:54 AM   #7
DenisfromBalti
Member
United States

DenisfromBalti is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 9
There is no white box to press and hold during boot process, i think because of the firmware ( too old)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #8
DenisfromBalti
Member
United States

DenisfromBalti is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 9
Can somebody send me that application to force PV+ to go to config screen? I cant find it on ab.com...
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 01:34 PM   #9
DUNK
Member
United States

DUNK is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: south carolina
Posts: 76
This should help

Problem: If an application has accidentally been set to autorun with no means of exiting the project, it will continue to run that application even on reboot of the terminal.
Solution: The following utility will bring up the RSView ME Configuration screen where the user can set ME to disable the project autorun option.
Steps:
Method
  1. Rename the appropriate attached file to autorun.exe and copy the file to a compact flash card. There are two attached files, one for the PanelView Plus 400 and 600 terminals, another for the PanelView Plus 700, 1000, 1250, and 1500 terminals. Caution: Before make the change to Autorun.exe, ensure your winodws explorer is set up to display the extension. To change that on your PC, while in windows explorer click the tools pull down=>folder options=>View tab. in the window, right at the bottom there is a check box for "Hide Extension for Known File Types", Uncheck that box and click OK. Now you can change the file name.
  2. Insert the compact flash card into the terminal. The program will automatically execute. (The execution of this program is silent. There is no user interface and no indication that the program had run.)
  3. Wait 30 seconds.
  4. Remove the compact flash card.
  5. Reboot the terminal.
  6. Re-configure your terminal settings as desired.
Be sure you read all of this.
File is attached..
Attached Files
File Type: zip PVP400_600_ResetMEStartup.zip (1.6 KB, 2755 views)
__________________
PROGRAMMABLE WHAT?!?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 01:38 PM   #10
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,380
And here's the same application for the PV700 - 1500 sizes. It uses a different file but work it the same way.
Attached Files
File Type: zip PVP700_1500ResetMEStartup.zip (1.4 KB, 1895 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 04:09 PM   #11
Roy Matson
Member
Canada

Roy Matson is offline
 
Roy Matson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 465
Another way is to add a shutdown button (one of the menu items in RSView Studio). I add a popup on the first screen that opens. This allows me to go back to a previous revision without downloading.
Roy
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 04:40 PM   #12
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by danny.michael View Post
Plug a keyboard into the USB port and press the Ctrl, Shift, Alt, and Windows key simultaneously.
[chant]keyboard, keyboard, keyboard[/chant]

*waits to see if it catches on...
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 04:42 PM   #13
DUNK
Member
United States

DUNK is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: south carolina
Posts: 76
Was wondering if everything was OK with this issue?
__________________
PROGRAMMABLE WHAT?!?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 06:03 PM   #14
DenisfromBalti
Member
United States

DenisfromBalti is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 9
Everyone thanks for replies, and HUUUGEEE thanks goes to daba and DUNK. That utility really saved my time and nerves!!!! I did everethn as u described in ur post Problem solved, case closed! Thanks everbody!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 12:56 AM   #15
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,380
And just a quick note that the AUTORUN.EXE file you create as in DUNKs post also works from a USB memory stick, as well as from a CF card, same procedure.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to access panelview plus config screen GotQuestions LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 July 16th, 2018 12:16 PM
Panelview Config Screen (Topic 1 of 3) akreel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 November 17th, 2011 04:31 PM
Panelview 1400 touch screen terminal config mode Proplas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 14th, 2011 11:28 PM
Panelview Plus 600 reading from SLC5/03 via NET-ENI story... Jawmunji LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 20th, 2007 11:30 AM
Panelview Plus 600 Config Problem Meeks LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 January 23rd, 2007 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


.