You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:08 PM   #1
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Allen Bradley SLC 504 networking

I am looking into networking some Allen Bradley SLC 504 processors using DH485 (Blue Hoose)cable. At each end of the connection I will have two personall computers that I want to use to connect to all the PLC's in the chain. I have two AB AIC + units that I want to convert from DH485 to Serial to each computer. Is this possible?? the AIC unit part number is 1761-NET-AIC.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:19 PM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,923
Yes, this is possible. I assume you will be setting up the serial ports on each of the SLC 5/04 processors to DH485, and that you have a NET-AIC for each device on the network.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #3
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Allen Bradley Networking

I would actually like to use the three wire port at the top of the processor to dasy chain the blue hose to each processor. At the start and at the end of the chain I would like to use the AIC unit to convert it to serial so I can use two PC's to communicate to all the PLC's in the chain.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:33 PM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,923
That 3-wire port is DH+ and does not require the NET-AIC module.

DH+ is a much better network than DH485 and would be the preferred way to do it, however, you'll need a way to connect your PCs to DH+.

For that you have several choices:
1784-PKTX (PCI card for despktop PC)
1784-PMCK (PMCIA card for laptop PC)
1784-U2DHP (USB adapter to DH+)

These are all quite expensive though.

But there are 3rd party devices that I have no experience with like this one:

http://www.protocolconverter.com/products/DL3500.htm

Paul
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."

Last edited by OkiePC; August 10th, 2009 at 01:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:47 PM   #5
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Allen Bradley PLC

I see.. Yes DH+ is what I want to use. There is no way to use the AIC unit to convert from DH+ to serial?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:53 PM   #6
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoofy_50 View Post
I see.. Yes DH+ is what I want to use. There is no way to use the AIC unit to convert from DH+ to serial?
NO

See Okies Post above for how to connect a pc/laptop to DH+
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:00 PM   #7
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,923
Sorry, but no, the AIC is not compatible with DH+. If you have four of them, and the proper DH-485 network cable, plus the four cables you'd need to connect the NET-AIC modules to the SLCs and the PCs, then you could use them.

If you don't already have four of them, though, you are probably better off going with DH+. Perhaps your A/B distributor will give you some credit if you trade them in for a pair of the 1784-U2DHP cables.

Paul
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:08 PM   #8
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Thanks alot. I will purchase two of the 1784 U2DHP.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:11 PM   #9
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
At the end of chain there will be two personal desktop computers. Would you recomend the 1784 U2DHP, or would you use the 1784-PKTX. I know I have had problems with the USB to serial cables before. Drivers not working and other things. What would you recomend??
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:13 PM   #10
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,923
One thing to add. You will need a way to adapt them to blue hose connectors, unless they are connected to the mini-din port of the 5/04 processors.

Take a close look at those details when you investigate this.
http://literature.rockwellautomation...n045_-en-p.pdf
Paul
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:18 PM   #11
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Well the application will be where the desktop PC's are located in two different offices. The blue hose will start in the first office run through 7 machines looped through the small three prong connector on the 504s. Then it will terminate in the second office at the second desktop PC. It seems I will need a means to go from the blue hose directly into the desktops.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:21 PM   #12
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is online now
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,923
You might, then, be better off using the 1784-PKTX. I have not used the USB cable, but the PKTX cards have always been highly reliable for me.

They have the phoenix plug on the end which can be wired directly to blue hose. Just make sure the PCs you are using have PCI slot available.

Paul
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:27 PM   #13
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Ok Thanks..You have been very helpful.. I like this site will be visiting more often...
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:38 PM   #14
Spoofy_50
Member
United States

Spoofy_50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 10
Has anyone ever used the PKV3500-DF1 converter?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:58 PM   #15
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,466
Another option is the older 1770-KF2 Box. ( Serial to DH+) E-Bay sometimes have them.

http://shop.ebay.com/items/kf2?_dmd=1&_sop=12
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; August 10th, 2009 at 03:00 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen Bradley SLC 5/05 VPN CrabMan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 24th, 2008 03:14 PM
allen bradley slc 500 G_Robot LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 December 13th, 2006 06:09 PM
Allen Bradley SLC 150 Larry B LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 17th, 2006 01:26 PM
Allen Bradley SLC 504 shutdown routine (to save values when plc crashes) kemppioy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 4th, 2005 09:33 AM
Allen Bradley SLC to Siemens 505 communication Ken Moore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 16th, 2005 11:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


.