You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 9th, 2009, 03:07 AM   #1
VigneshGunasekaran
Member
India

VigneshGunasekaran is offline
 
VigneshGunasekaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 111
GSV instruction

Hi

I am using GSV instruction to read the controller Fault status in Logix. I did this routine in Main program.

Do i need to copy paste the same routine in Fault Handler also. So that the routine will be executed if its not executed in Main program during faulty condition. Kindly clarify.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:02 AM   #2
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 2,872
Only if you need to clear the faults, thus allowing the controller to continue execution. The fault info will still be accessible via the RSLogix software.

Tip : do not just clear all faults in a fault routine, inspect to see what faults are present, and only clear those you are content to.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:22 AM   #3
VigneshGunasekaran
Member
India

VigneshGunasekaran is offline
 
VigneshGunasekaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 111
How to read major and minor fault details. I used GSV instruction with classname faultlog and attribute name as Majorfaultbits. I generated io error, but i could able to see any fault status in destination which is a DINT. Bit 3 should shold be ON to show io error, but i donot get any status. I did this logic in main routine.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:39 AM   #4
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 2,872
Have you set the i/o module property to create a major fault ?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:40 AM   #5
VigneshGunasekaran
Member
India

VigneshGunasekaran is offline
 
VigneshGunasekaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 111
no i have added new module which is not actually present
  Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 04:44 AM   #6
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 2,872
you need to set module properties "Generate Major Fault if module faults"

if you don't, an i/o module fault is a Minor fault

Last edited by daba; November 9th, 2009 at 05:01 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSG Instruction in an Add-On Instruction -RSLogix 5000 Cleaner LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 16th, 2013 03:48 PM
installing a panelview 600 + rjmarinaro LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 June 17th, 2008 11:52 AM
osr instruction help Mossman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 20th, 2007 02:08 AM
Ti Cmp Instruction Help Tisoft Software. BOWRIDER LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 15th, 2007 07:54 AM
OSF Instruction with SLC 50/4 Craig LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 April 2nd, 2003 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


.