You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 15th, 2010, 10:38 PM   #1
sns
Member
Pakistan

sns is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
Allen Bradley VFD problem

We have six Allen Bradley PowerFlex 1336 PLUS II VFDs/Inverters installed at our plant connected through ControlNet using 1203-CN1 Scanport. The problem is that sometimes the fault light on the Scanport module starts blinking of fault and the HIM on the VFD display F 10 which is serial fault. The problem occurs randomly and has happened on all the six drives. The frequency of occurrence is also random. It came recently after a couple of months.
What could be the possible reasons for this? Iíve gone through the manual and none of the Actions the manual says are really applicable to my case.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 10:52 PM   #2
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by sns View Post
We have six Allen Bradley PowerFlex 1336 PLUS II VFDs/Inverters installed at our plant connected through ControlNet using 1203-CN1 Scanport. The problem is that sometimes the fault light on the Scanport module starts blinking of fault and the HIM on the VFD display F 10 which is serial fault. The problem occurs randomly and has happened on all the six drives. The frequency of occurrence is also random. It came recently after a couple of months.
What could be the possible reasons for this? I’ve gone through the manual and none of the Actions the manual says are really applicable to my case.

Thanks
We went through a similar problem with slightly different drives on control-net (1336 force). Our problem turned out that the scan port was not properly secured to the din rail. The ones we used grounded on the din-rail and if they weren't locked on the rail, they would cause a ton of noise on the network.

The funny thing was it would not cause the drive with the unsecured scan port to fault, another one on the network would fault. We had a meter that would measure noise on the network. When the scan port was locked down, no noise. If we would unsnap it and let it hang on the din rail, there would be a ton of noise and one of the drives on the network would randomly fault (every couple of hours).

I would also look for poor BNC connections.

Are you using AB connectors and taps?
__________________
Get 2 GB of free space from Dropbox using my referral.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 07:43 AM   #3
jac
Member
Canada

jac is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 126
I second checking the BNC connections idea. If not crimped with a proper tool the connections loosen over time and can cause havoc.
99.9% of ControlNet issues I’ve seen are traced back to the media. If all else fails buy some ends and a proper crimper and redo them all to spec. And use the proper taps....
  Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 08:25 AM   #4
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,392
jac speaks the truth.

If you don't find something obvious when checking over the BNC terminations, it might be worthwhile to get one of these

The installation at the plant that I worked at was terrible. We had the spec cable and used the proper connectors, but the contractor installed them with a knife and pliers (which we found out during commissioning our network). I quickly became a termination expert. I probably re-terminated 100 connections or more.

Like jac said, that took care of 99% of our problems. But the improperly grounded scan port was a nightmare. We replaced every piece of the drive that was serial faulting, one at a time and the problem never went away. I was cleaning out a drive down the chain and noticed that the scan-port was loose on the din-rail. Snapped it down and went about my business. I later realized that we had no more faults.

At first I thought dust collection in the MCC might have caused excess heat, which might have explained the faults. But later I brought out the tester, hooked it up, pulled the scan port off of the din-rail (out of curiosity) and sure enough, the noise went through the roof.

My situation is probably the least likely, but it is something easy to check while you are checking terminations.
__________________
Get 2 GB of free space from Dropbox using my referral.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 11:42 AM   #5
TheStarr
Member
United States

TheStarr is offline
 
TheStarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 375
VFD output lines are horribly noisy (electrically).

Make sure you are not running your serial cable in the same wireway/conduit as the motor leads.

Induction will do some crazy things to serial communications!
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2010, 10:38 PM   #6
sns
Member
Pakistan

sns is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
Thanks for the inputs.

The serial cable/control net cable is in the same tray as the power cables/motor leads.

Could that be causing it? I admit it was also my initial suspicion but this time the problem came after around three months and the drives are always running.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 02:01 AM   #7
sns
Member
Pakistan

sns is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
Another thing, can I disconnect the control net loop without disturbing the the other component in the loop (like profibus) or not?

Specifically, I want to check the terminations and grounding on each of the SCANport module so it'll require taking them out one at a time.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 05:45 AM   #8
The Plc Kid
Member
United States

The Plc Kid is offline
 
The Plc Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macon, Georgia
Posts: 3,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroeder View Post
We went through a similar problem with slightly different drives on control-net (1336 force). Our problem turned out that the scan port was not properly secured to the din rail. The ones we used grounded on the din-rail and if they weren't locked on the rail, they would cause a ton of noise on the network.

The funny thing was it would not cause the drive with the unsecured scan port to fault, another one on the network would fault. We had a meter that would measure noise on the network. When the scan port was locked down, no noise. If we would unsnap it and let it hang on the din rail, there would be a ton of noise and one of the drives on the network would randomly fault (every couple of hours).

I would also look for poor BNC connections.

Are you using AB connectors and taps?
@dmroeder

What meter were you using to measure this noise. I have very similar problem with some 1336 force and impact rives on scanport to RIO Adapters.

Fortunatly it only rears it's head every once in a while.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2010, 02:16 AM   #9
sns
Member
Pakistan

sns is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
Can you mention the spec of the noise meter that you had? I think I am gonna need one here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroeder View Post
We went through a similar problem with slightly different drives on control-net (1336 force). Our problem turned out that the scan port was not properly secured to the din rail. The ones we used grounded on the din-rail and if they weren't locked on the rail, they would cause a ton of noise on the network.

The funny thing was it would not cause the drive with the unsecured scan port to fault, another one on the network would fault. We had a meter that would measure noise on the network. When the scan port was locked down, no noise. If we would unsnap it and let it hang on the din rail, there would be a ton of noise and one of the drives on the network would randomly fault (every couple of hours).

I would also look for poor BNC connections.

Are you using AB connectors and taps?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2010, 09:59 AM   #10
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,392
I believe the part number was 1788-CNCHKR
__________________
Get 2 GB of free space from Dropbox using my referral.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2010, 10:00 AM   #11
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Plc Kid View Post
@dmroeder

What meter were you using to measure this noise. I have very similar problem with some 1336 force and impact rives on scanport to RIO Adapters.

Fortunatly it only rears it's head every once in a while.
Sorry Kid, I missed this post. See my previous post.
__________________
Get 2 GB of free space from Dropbox using my referral.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2010, 02:41 AM   #12
sns
Member
Pakistan

sns is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
I came across this
http://www.ab.com/support/abdrives/1336f/faults/10.html

Any thoughts on this?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2010, 12:50 AM   #13
sns
Member
Pakistan

sns is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 42
Bump
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seimens VFD issue ascot01 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 14th, 2009 10:19 PM
Allen Bradley Panel View Plus 1250 Application upload gsmoh2000 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 12th, 2009 11:59 AM
Allen Bradley 1747uic Problem??? sundar_scada LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 29th, 2008 07:28 AM
Can't connect Allen Bradley to Telemecanique Madahbee LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 August 13th, 2008 08:27 AM
VFD conveyor problem hainter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 September 27th, 2006 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


.