You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 7th, 2010, 12:52 AM   #1
shoelesscraig
Member
United States

shoelesscraig is offline
 
shoelesscraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 302
Logix 5000 Question...?

I know I've seen the answer to this before, but I've searched and searched and for the life of me I can't find it!!

I'm used to Logix 500, where if I wanted to make an output flash I could use a bit such as S2:4/5 for example. What is the easiest way to do this in Logix 5000? I know how to do it with 2 timers, but I thought there may be an easier way...?

At first I HATED 5000, but the more I get used to it, the more I love it! I'm just still trying to get used to these little differences.
__________________
"It's better to be hated for who you are than be loved for who you're not"
-Van Zant Brothers
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 01:25 AM   #2
Honga
Member
Australia

Honga is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Aus
Posts: 316
Maybe you could just toggle on scan completion, depending on scan time this should do.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 01:46 AM   #3
shoelesscraig
Member
United States

shoelesscraig is offline
 
shoelesscraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 302
Scan time for a typical program in this controller is just a few milliseconds. I'm looking to flash an output (such as a pilot light) on and off a LOT slower than that. Maybe 1 second on, 1 second off. Or .5 seconds on, .5 seconds off.
__________________
"It's better to be hated for who you are than be loved for who you're not"
-Van Zant Brothers
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 02:10 AM   #4
Honga
Member
Australia

Honga is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Aus
Posts: 316
hmm.. could you use system clock &2 (& being the remainder operation) and toggle on it?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 02:26 AM   #5
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 3,821
One part of my utility logic for Logix is a simple free-running timer, with a 50ms time base. Every time the DN bit gets set, I just add 1 to a DINT. Just use the bits of the DINT for various duration blinker bits.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 03:10 AM   #6
shoelesscraig
Member
United States

shoelesscraig is offline
 
shoelesscraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrast View Post
One part of my utility logic for Logix is a simple free-running timer, with a 50ms time base. Every time the DN bit gets set, I just add 1 to a DINT. Just use the bits of the DINT for various duration blinker bits.
Great idea. Correct me if I'm wrong, but won't I need to limit the DINT somehow to make sure the number doesn't get too big? If so, can't I just unconditionally unlatch one of the DINT's higher bits? Say for example bit #30 in the DINT? I may be off track here...?
__________________
"It's better to be hated for who you are than be loved for who you're not"
-Van Zant Brothers
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 04:45 AM   #7
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 151
There are a few ways of doing it for different results, but here's one quick and dirty way I use if I just want to make something flash.

Just use bit Blink_DINT.0 to Blink_DINT.13 to vary the rate, or combine a couple of bits for different blinking effects.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Blink.JPG (12.5 KB, 124 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 09:11 AM   #8
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,356
Check the help for the GSV instruction. There will be some information on WallClockTime.

See this thread as well.
__________________
Get 2 GB of free space from Dropbox using my referral.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 10:16 AM   #9
gtr35
Member
Mexico

gtr35 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sinaloa
Posts: 23
If you are using a DINT you can do the Unlatch in the bit .31 and get more blinking values. habe any one tried to do that, is the blinking to slow ??
  Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 05:58 PM   #10
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr35 View Post
If you are using a DINT you can do the Unlatch in the bit .31 and get more blinking values. habe any one tried to do that, is the blinking to slow ??

Unless you want to grow old waiting for bit 13, you won't need anything higher.... So really, you could use an INT, but yeah.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RS Logix 5000 installation on windows 7 hasan_ali LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 9th, 2010 08:53 AM
Logix 5000 to talk to wonderware through 1756 ENET smcmanus LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 5th, 2008 08:45 AM
Logix 5000 MAM question magicsmoke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 11th, 2008 03:38 PM
Rsview ME to Logix 5000 Ker25 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 19th, 2006 06:30 PM
Help with RS Logix 5000 MartB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 22nd, 2005 03:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


.