You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 14th, 2010, 08:59 PM   #1
kecribb
Member
United States

kecribb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 2
Powerflex 40P Fault 13

I have powerflex 40P drives that fault out with Fault 13. I can disconnect the load and the motor will work fine. As soon as I reconnect the belt I get the fault. I ahve also connected another motor to the same drive and it faults out also. I have followed all the recommendations on checking the motor and everything checks out. I replaced the drive and everything is working fine. I sent the drive that is faulting out to a repair facility and they cannot duplicate the fault on a bench test they say it is working fine but when it comes back I get the same problem. I have had the same fault on multiple drives in different locations and the only solution we have found is to change the drives. Does anyone have any advice as to what I should tell the repair facility is wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 09:10 PM   #2
rpoet
Member
United States

rpoet is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 362
For those of us unfamiliar with the PF40 drives, what does Fault 13 cross-reference to in the drive's manual? If we can get some more specifics, we might be more able to help.

Might you have grounding or noise issues in your facility that don't exist at the repair facility? Weird faults like what you've described are often grounding issues in some form.

-rpoet
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 09:34 PM   #3
JeffKiper
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

JeffKiper is offline
 
JeffKiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,055
I had an over current fault on some PF4. i don't remember he fault code. I uncoupled the load and the drive would run. Jog the drive just fine. Reconnected the load and over current fault again. We checked bearings, greased the slides. I moved the load by hand with very little effort. It turned out to be a single phase issue because of a broken wire in a flexable cable tray.
The moral of this is do not over look the simple stuff?
__________________
There should be a minimum IQ before people can breed
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 09:36 PM   #4
sthompson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Canada

sthompson is offline
 
sthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 1,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by kecribb View Post
I have powerflex 40P drives that fault out with Fault 13. I can disconnect the load and the motor will work fine. As soon as I reconnect the belt I get the fault. I ahve also connected another motor to the same drive and it faults out also. I have followed all the recommendations on checking the motor and everything checks out. I replaced the drive and everything is working fine. I sent the drive that is faulting out to a repair facility and they cannot duplicate the fault on a bench test they say it is working fine but when it comes back I get the same problem. I have had the same fault on multiple drives in different locations and the only solution we have found is to change the drives. Does anyone have any advice as to what I should tell the repair facility is wrong?
According to the User Manual, Fault 13 is a Ground Fault.

http://literature.rockwellautomation...m001_-en-e.pdf

I would check all the problem VFDs to see if they are all the same Manufacturing Run, and similar Manufacture Dates. There may be an issue with the VFDs, that happens from time to time.

There may be an issue with your installation that could cause this behavior. We would need to know the exact Model Number of the PF40P, operating voltate, and if they are on a WYE or Delta System.

Stu....
__________________
There's never time to do it right, but there is always time to do it over!
No trees were killed in the creation of this message. However, many electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 10:10 PM   #5
DickDV
Member
United States

DickDV is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 2,090
You may be using these drives on a floating or unbalanced power source. Anything other than a solidly or low-resistance grounded wye source needs special consideration as to programming and isolating the CE network, if so equipt.

Contact AB for help on configuring the drive for floating supplies, if that's what you've got (sounds likely to me).
  Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2010, 05:13 AM   #6
danny.michael
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

danny.michael is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 155
See page 1-4 in the manual. If your power supply is ungrounded or resistive grounded, follow the directions for disconnecting the MOVs.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2010, 09:05 AM   #7
kecribb
Member
United States

kecribb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 2
Powerflex 40P

I thought I would bring you up to date. It turns out that the hall effect sonsors were bad. Once they were changed the problem went away.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2010, 01:08 PM   #8
Tom@Pton
Member
United States

Tom@Pton is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Nebraska
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by kecribb View Post
I thought I would bring you up to date. It turns out that the hall effect sonsors were bad. Once they were changed the problem went away.
How were these sensors connected to the drive that would cause a ground fault?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Flex 40 shows fault code 13, what should I be looking for? Steve Bailey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 29 February 25th, 2013 08:43 AM
PowerFlex 700 Comm Fault Action rleon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 30th, 2009 10:50 AM
Connect a Micrologix 1100 to a Powerflex 40P Arnildo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 16th, 2008 10:05 AM
PowerFlex 70 & 700 Fault Resets curlyandshemp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 15th, 2007 04:16 PM
AB powerflex I/O comms fault mrdmrd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 26th, 2005 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


.