You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 23rd, 2011, 12:45 PM   #1
tinyku
Member
United States

tinyku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 5
Controllogix / Panelview Plus 600 question

Hello Everybody,

I have searched through the forums before posting, but maybe I missed this.

I am trying to figure out how to link a panelview plus 600 to a controllogix 1756 system.

I have never used a controllogix before, the PLCs I had used were SLCs and I had never needed to connect up to a panelview HMI. I've used other PLCs and other HMIs, mostly Siemens.

The guy who quit before I started working here had used this for a project but he deleted all of the project files and emptied it out.

The software I have is RSLogix 500 and 5000, RSview ME Station and RSView Studio, RSLinx Classic, and Factory Talk.

The Controllogix has a 1756-ENBT A communications card. I believe based on the electrician that he had the HMI connected to the controllogix through ethernet directly. It looks like the IPs of both of them are setup.

I am able to connect to the Controllogix and create stuff and upload it. I was able to also create some screens and upload it to the HMI, but I'm not sure how to link the two together.

What I wanted to do with the HMI was to monitor some of the inputs and some internal bits. I wouldn't require an HMI for what I'm trying to do, but since I have it, I would like to use it if I could figure it out.

If anybody can give me some advice on what steps I need to take to link these two, or how I should be hooking it up and what I need to do that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 02:08 PM   #2
tinyku
Member
United States

tinyku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 5
Also,

I found in the box of stuff that this was in there was an ethernet switch, so I will get that in there and have the HMI and the PLC both connected to the switch, also with the laptop.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 02:21 PM   #3
plchacker
Member
United States

plchacker is offline
 
plchacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Helwestern, AL
Posts: 320
You will need to work with RSView ME Studio. There, you will set up the communications paths and build the displays. If you have a Rockwell Software support contract I would suggest that you call them. Their PV people are great, and it takes a while to get up to speed with View ME. The learning curve is pretty steep, even if you are comfortable with RS5K and HMI's in general. Also try the search function here. Lots of PV information up for grabs that way.
__________________
Its easier to beg for forgiveness than to ask for permission.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 03:26 PM   #4
tomalbright
Member
United States

tomalbright is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gonzales, LA
Posts: 691
As far as addressing, the direct method is one I use - rather than having a tag database in your HMI, for the tag use {your_plc_name}your_plc_tagname. This assumes you have your IP addressing set up.

It's not that difficult. Curse the lack of scriptedness, though.
__________________
"We really don't care how you program your PLC, just don't blow yourself up!"
www.GeekQuake.com Also on Facebook!

  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 03:47 PM   #5
tinyku
Member
United States

tinyku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 5
Cool, thanks guys, I am going to keep plugging away at it.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 09:21 PM   #6
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,559
Rockwell has some great videos posted to their web site to get you started with RSView ME (now called FactotyTalk View ME).

http://www.rockwellautomation.com/so...esources4.html

OG
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2011, 09:32 PM   #7
Viks
Member
New Zealand

Viks is offline
 
Viks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 148
IP Address Setup

Are you sure that the other guy had already setup the IP Address for the PV terminal? Can you see the terminal when you open RSLinx on your PC?
__________________
Vikash Kumar
  Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2011, 09:25 AM   #8
tinyku
Member
United States

tinyku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 5
Yeah, I can see it and I connected to it through Ethernet directly to the laptop. I was able to create a project and upload it, it was just a screen with text.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2011, 06:16 PM   #9
tinyku
Member
United States

tinyku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 5
Thanks guys, I think I got it now.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
panelview 600 and panelbuilder 32 morpheoussc400 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 October 28th, 2010 01:08 PM
PanelView +600 downloading problems. Struggling_forward LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 January 12th, 2009 12:50 PM
comm setup panelview 600 and pc moonert LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 December 1st, 2008 08:24 AM
Panelview Plus 600 to run on power-up LMDAVE LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 19th, 2007 11:00 AM
Panelview 600 LCD Problem DriveSuperFreak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 1st, 2007 06:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


.