You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 18th, 2011, 11:05 AM   #1
2stepsforward
Member
United Kingdom

2stepsforward is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 14
RedLion to A-B ControlLogix

Hello all. Looking for some help & advice on part of a struggling project I've been roped into, the project has several process analysers utilising A-B ControlLogix PLCs for the analyser protection and sample system control. The PLCs Operate the sample supply & return valves and various other devices.

The challenge is that the analysers need to feed their data to two Modbus hosts, which also maintain a level of control over them, e.g. each Modbus host needs to be able to reset & restart the analyser if an issue causes it to 'trip' and close the supply & return valves.

The other requirement here is to data log info from the analysers to allow information to be retrieved later by engineers should a trip occur.

So the plan drawn up is to connect the ControlLogix via RedLion Data Station Pluses (plusi?) to split the data to its two paths and datalog. Though I have no real A-B knowledge I've used the Red Lion's before so am ok with them. The plan is to connect the Modbus devices to the RL via the 232-PG & RS232 ports, which means I'll need to use either 485 or Ethernet to link to the A-B. There is some uncertainty as to whether the A-B has space in its location for a comms card, so I looked to see whether you can get a ControlLogix CPU with an Ethernet port? I can't find one, though I can for CompactLogix. I'd prefer this method as I'm considering using the L5K driver as a different contractor will be programming the A-B and I'll then need to sort the link after the main programming is done.

The other question is what is your preferred method of linking an A-B ControlLogix to a Red Lion device? There seem to be many drivers listed on the RL site but some I'd have thought usable with a ControlLogix don't have it listed?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2011, 11:47 AM   #2
kittydog42
Member
United States

kittydog42 is offline
 
kittydog42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 223
I use "Allen-Bradley Native Tags via L5K file" via Ethernet. I found this protocol to work the best.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redlion G3 comms to Micrologix 1000 via NET-ENI JakBeux LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 20th, 2016 04:37 PM
Controllogix / Panelview Plus 600 question tinyku LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 29th, 2011 07:16 PM
Need Help for ControlLogix System gherz817 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 14th, 2010 11:09 AM
Redlion G3 to ControlLogix - !@#@#!! TConnolly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 November 10th, 2009 10:13 PM
How to identify Transaction ID or Request ID in ControlLogix CIP Commands ? ruz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 29th, 2008 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


.