You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 25th, 2011, 08:41 AM   #1
brucechase
Member
United States

brucechase is offline
 
brucechase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Augusta GA
Posts: 717
Micro 800 (810) install

I just had the perfect opportunity for using a Micro810 over the weekend. We had a Fuji Timery Power programmable relay bite the dust and no one around here has the software, cable, or a spare relay. I called my AB distributor and had them send me over a Micro810. I thought I would give my impressions of this little thing.

One thing to note is that I am running Windows XP SP2. The CCW software did not automatically load on my computer so I had to force it. After downloading the software, I had to drill down into the folders to the CCW setup file. Double clicking on that did work, but I had to install several other components. Since we still have real old AB devices here, I havenít been able to upgrade the software yet. Due to the slow internet connection, download and install time was about 4 hours.

RSLinx needs to be 2.57 Ė I was running 2.54. Now none of the other processors show up in my backup file that I saved before I upgraded. My browse files also look different for some reason. Everything shows up as non recognized device. I did load all the EDS files, but I am unsure of why this happened. Also, all my Ethernet drivers were duplicated. This is something that I will have to look at later.

One important note that I fully accepted when I bought this thing is that there is a bug in the firmware that shuts down the process every 49 days. It will need a firmware update that should be available for download next week (before the 49th day). As long as power is cycled to the unit before the 49 days is up, the counter starts over. This was something I accepted to get this installed this weekend before we started back up again.

Programming was a slight challenge. There is not much in the way of help files or resources to look at. A call to the AB tech support is a gamble. My one question (about wiring) took almost 45 minutes to answer.
Programming is not like the 500 software Ė it is more like 5000 software (tag based). One of the biggest challenges I had was the time base of timers. Most examples showed seconds and I wanted milliseconds. Other than that, some weird like if changed an alias, I had to do some things like open the tag and change an attribute and change it back to get it to show. The block instruction has some very powerful instructions ranging from ASCII to PID controls. The instructions also include system variables that can be used in the program.

Hooking up the USB adapter and the cable to my computer brought up the driver in RSlinx without any configuration. I chose it and the 810 showed up immediately. Download was very quick and went without problems. The front screen shows the I/O status by default so it was easy to see what was going on.

The saved file size is huge! It takes up about 2.7MB in the folder. Poking through all the files shows an access database called PrjLibrary that is 2.5MB. I assume this is used for the creation and development and isnít downloaded to the relay.

My little 8 rung program took about 2 hours to write due mostly to not knowing the instruction set and how to move things about. After my initial try, this should be real easy. Anyone who has done any programming at all should pick this up pretty quickly. There doesnít seem to be any type of online monitoring which I think would be needed for PID tuning or motion. Maybe the higher versions have it or I just havenít clicked on the right button yet.

It would be great to see some others of these in service or at an automation fair or lab. I pick up more by seeing what other people have done versus just reading over a help file. Iíll post my small program for anyone who wants to see it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg micro810.jpg (66.4 KB, 294 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 08:56 AM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,608
Thanks for posting your first impressions of this device, Bruce !

I was all ready to buy several of the bigger 830's but the firmware bug caused a stop order while RA flash upgrades all of their stock, and the shipment delay puts me past my machine construction window, so I have to switch to MicroLogix.

I am surprised that there is not an online monitor mode. Maybe this is a limitation of the 810 unit, or maybe I just made an unsupported assumption about the controller.

One thing I am very interested in is whether the rung comments are actually stored in the controller. The user manual says they are, but I haven't verified it directly.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 08:56 AM   #3
anealysr
Member
United States

anealysr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alexandria,Louisiana
Posts: 14
I'm suprized you got anyone from Englewood on a weekend. I used to live and work in Augusta.
I'm glad to hear someone had tried the Micro. The AB rep down here talked about them but has not recieved any yet. I am looking forward to try one as I'm doing inactivity controls for quite a few machines and from what I hear these things are real cheap and the Micrologix 1000 is being phased out. Not sure why they would do that but if I can get these for less than $100 they will work perfect. I can say that I won't get any until the firmware issues are worked out as I am looking to expand my plant into a 24-7 operation so I couldn't live with the 49 day shutdown.

Is it true that AB is giving the software for free? If so is it just a download or do you have to install from CD?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 09:27 AM   #4
brucechase
Member
United States

brucechase is offline
 
brucechase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Augusta GA
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by anealysr View Post
I'm suprized you got anyone from Englewood on a weekend. I used to live and work in Augusta.
Where did you work at? I actually ordered this on a Friday so I didn't have to worry about the weekend, but my dealings with Englewood has usually been great - even on weekends. There has been some changes in the sales force though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by anealysr View Post
I'm glad to hear someone had tried the Micro..... Not sure why they would do that but if I can get these for less than $100 they will work perfect. I can say that I won't get any until the firmware issues are worked out as I am looking to expand my plant into a 24-7 operation so I couldn't live with the 49 day shutdown.
Cost was about $85. I ordered the USB adapter - you will definately need at least 1 for $30 and the LCD/Memory Backup for $40. If you are going to have the same program in all of them, this looks like a way to download to multiple units (but I only have one so I can't confirm). You don't need the LCD on each unit. The firmware issues are supposedly fixed. AB didn't want to give me one with the old firmware, but I had to have it so I take all the responsibility.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anealysr View Post
Is it true that AB is giving the software for free? If so is it just a download or do you have to install from CD?
Yep, the software is Connected Components Workbench and it is a free download from the AB site right now or you can order the CD. It is close to 1GB in size though and it looks to be the version that also does the Panelview Component line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
Thanks for posting your first impressions of this device, Bruce !

I was all ready to buy several of the bigger 830's but the firmware bug caused a stop order while RA flash upgrades all of their stock, and the shipment delay puts me past my machine construction window, so I have to switch to MicroLogix.

I am surprised that there is not an online monitor mode. Maybe this is a limitation of the 810 unit, or maybe I just made an unsupported assumption about the controller.

One thing I am very interested in is whether the rung comments are actually stored in the controller. The user manual says they are, but I haven't verified it directly.
They said that they could ship the 810 in less than 2 weeks but I couldn't wait.
The 810 doesn't have an "online" monitor mode other than the LCD as far as I can tell. I tried to make a change to the program with the LCD and I don't think I will ever try that again.

Not sure how to verify the comments are in the controller since I have the software that wrote. I might try to load it on a different computer and see if I can see the comments. All I have to do is find another laptop.

Last edited by brucechase; July 25th, 2011 at 09:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 09:43 AM   #5
brucechase
Member
United States

brucechase is offline
 
brucechase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Augusta GA
Posts: 717
Flash upgrade available

Just got a message from my local AB guys that the flash upgrade for the 810 and 830 is available on the Rockwell website.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 03:28 PM   #6
anealysr
Member
United States

anealysr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alexandria,Louisiana
Posts: 14
I worked for Boral Bricks and Castleberry while in Augusta. But that has been 4 years ago. I'm now in Pineville, La. I am going to be buying at least 40 of these the program will be basically the same just may have different addresses. I was going to use micrologix 1000 until my AB rep told me about the micro 800 I still am amazed the AB will "give" anything away.

Glad to hear it's all working for you. This has to be more friendly than the Pico. I never cared for them.

By the way where do you work in Augusta?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 08:17 PM   #7
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 3,783
Hi Bruce,

Are you working for yourself now? hope all is good....

See here for a little more information on the 830 and CCW software http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=64632

Im going to start back on the analog tomorrow
__________________
www.PLCCable.com Save 5% on all cables and trainers, enter coupon code PLCTalk at check out... see our NEW line of PLC programming cables, smaller, cheaper, better....
  Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 09:56 PM   #8
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by anealysr View Post
I worked for Boral Bricks and Castleberry while in Augusta. But that has been 4 years ago. I'm now in Pineville, La. I am going to be buying at least 40 of these the program will be basically the same just may have different addresses. I was going to use micrologix 1000 until my AB rep told me about the micro 800 I still am amazed the AB will "give" anything away.

Glad to hear it's all working for you. This has to be more friendly than the Pico. I never cared for them.

By the way where do you work in Augusta?
Software for the ML1000 ( and ML1100) is also free.

http://www.ab.com/linked/programmabl...downloads.html
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2011, 07:12 AM   #9
anealysr
Member
United States

anealysr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alexandria,Louisiana
Posts: 14
Thanks Mickey I didn't know that as I have RSLogix 500 and didn't ever look. I'll keep that in the back of my head if I ever need to put it on another pc.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2011, 10:50 AM   #10
brucechase
Member
United States

brucechase is offline
 
brucechase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Augusta GA
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by anealysr View Post
I worked for Boral Bricks and Castleberry while in Augusta. But that has been 4 years ago. I'm now in Pineville, La. ...


By the way where do you work in Augusta?
I used to know a guy at Boral Bricks (Nathan) who left there about 4 years ago. I miss Castleberry though - I loved their hotdog chilli.

Currently working at a medical supplier (Covidien). It has been several plants over the years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Hi Bruce,

Are you working for yourself now? hope all is good....
...
Im going to start back on the analog tomorrow
No, I never took the plunge to go independant. Too much worries with insurance and stuff. If the wife had a job with benefits to take care of the kids, I might have considered it more. I will probably regret that later on, but for now the family is first.

Good luck on the analog. I haven't tried that, but I asked AB the question about wiring because terminal 3 is -com and terminal 8 is -24VDC. I wanted to make sure that if I was using all digital I needed a -24VDC to terminal 3 (which after 45 minutes they did confirm).
  Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2011, 03:12 PM   #11
anealysr
Member
United States

anealysr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Alexandria,Louisiana
Posts: 14
I know the feeling I loved the hot dog chilli too.
You probably knew Nathan Harrington. Last I heard he went to Texas to be a plant manager but they closed down the plant so I don't know what he is doing now.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2011, 04:00 PM   #12
brucechase
Member
United States

brucechase is offline
 
brucechase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Augusta GA
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by anealysr View Post
I know the feeling I loved the hot dog chilli too.
You probably knew Nathan Harrington. Last I heard he went to Texas to be a plant manager but they closed down the plant so I don't know what he is doing now.
That's him. He lived across the street from me for a few years. All I remember is that they worked him like a dog (or at least that was his excuse for not being home.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2012, 08:37 PM   #13
Firejo
Member
United States

Firejo is offline
 
Firejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 105
Not sure if you've figured this out yet or not but you can go monitor the processor live. You first have to go online with it (click on the processor in the upper right corner and you should see a pic of the processor. Among other things this is where you should see a "connect" button or "disconnect" if you're already connected. If you are connected, go to the "Debug" button or use the "F5" button on your keyboard. "Shift-F5" ends debugging. Not sure why AB decided to call it that. Took me several hours to figure it out.
__________________
Life's to short and that just sucks!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2012, 01:25 PM   #14
dcam
Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: livingston
Posts: 18
micro810

We are trying to implement them here at Livingston Ca chicken land also. Here is a pict of a trainer we put together. Not much in terms of training resources, just a small utube stop light series. Anyone know of other Connected components workbench training aids out there.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG1196.jpg (29.0 KB, 100 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Allen Bradley Micro 800 Oceansoul LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 34 November 9th, 2012 02:06 PM
New AB Micro 800 (Micro830) line... anyone? geniusintraining LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 August 3rd, 2011 06:16 PM
Siemens Micro Memory card jamalshahid LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 26th, 2011 03:12 PM
Very slow pc when I install WinCC flexible 2005 micro mulderm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 28th, 2007 11:15 AM
PV 300 4.20 frn C & Micro 1500 LRP C Comms DF1 chakorules LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 13th, 2002 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


.