You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 1st, 2011, 07:02 PM   #1
SouthPahw
Member
United States

SouthPahw is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heartland U.S.A.
Posts: 25
Unhappy Allen Bradley SLC 5/01 CPU FAULT

SLC 5/01 CPU Fault light Flashes, get on-line and it is a
Major Error Halt S:1/3=1
Module (CPU) in slot 0 Wrong Type for User Program.
Major Error S:6=54h
Radix: Structured
Processor Type: 1747-L514 Ser. B 5/01 CPU 4k memory
Serial # L514-0891N1201 frn 4
2446 Instruction Words Left
History: This was an older program developed with APS most likely. I uploaded with RSLogix500 and worked the program over for several hours, downloading and uploading several changes. After program tweaking completed, It ran with no issues for approximately 30 days. And then the CPU Fault.

I can clear the Fault, but concerned it will reappear, and this is not a local customer. Sent PLC in to me to look at problem. Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2011, 07:22 PM   #2
WrongWay
Member
United States

WrongWay is offline
 
WrongWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sturgis,Mi
Posts: 32
maybe dumb question, is it possible that it was off for a while or had the power cycled improperly and then loaded from a memory module that has a different program? bit of a stretch.
__________________
John
In the land of plenty, conservation is a foreign word.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2011, 07:27 PM   #3
SouthPahw
Member
United States

SouthPahw is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heartland U.S.A.
Posts: 25
I admit, I am no AB expert, but don't believe there is a EEProm, only the CPU memory. Also, the Customer said it was running along and he went to manual and made some adjustment and then it just stopped.
I don't see any program errors or codes to see that direction. Just what I listed. But Thanks for the suggestion.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2011, 08:08 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,614
The SLC-500 Modular Hardware Style User Manual has good diagrams of what the EEPROM module socket looks like on the various 5/0x controllers.

This sounds to me like a damaged backplane. The SLC backplane provides a way for the controller to regularly check the ID codes of the modules installed, and when the backplane has been damaged you'll sometimes get a "module mismatch" error. It's unusual for that error to point the finger at the CPU itself, but I've seen it where it pointed to Slot 1 when in fact the defective slot was elsewhere (and was interfering with the slot number data bus lines).

"Separate and run" is the best way to diagnose an issue like this: load the original controller with a test program and put it into a test chassis to get some runtime. Load a new controller and send it to the customer.

Worst case scenario: The new controller faults at the customer site, proving the controller is not the problem. Send them the original CPU and a new chassis and power supply.

Best case scenario: The original controller faults in the test rack and the replacement one keeps running at the customer site. Trash the old one and invoice the customer for the new one.

Of course this depends on you having spare controllers and racks and time, but it's faster than replacing the CPU, the backplane, the power supply, and then every I/O module in sequence.

If it were me, I would replace a 5/01 with a modern SLC-5/03, 8K model. They're available new and are easier to re-load (because they have an RS-232 port) and the price difference is minimal compared to most downtime events.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 07:53 AM   #5
SouthPahw
Member
United States

SouthPahw is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heartland U.S.A.
Posts: 25
Ken, great advice, I have done that with other older PLC types.
("Separate and run" is the best way to diagnose an issue like this: load the original controller with a test program and put it into a test chassis to get some runtime. Load a new controller and send it to the customer.")
I had already left the unit in a test rack on all night, thus far. There is no EEPROM, just Flash Memory.

("If it were me, I would replace a 5/01 with a modern SLC-5/03, 8K model. They're available new and are easier to re-load (because they have an RS-232 port)")
Currently I am using the USB Pic which has the DH485/Cat5 Connection to PLC. Going to the SLC-5/03 8K model, what are the key points I would need to look at for the change over; I.E. RS-232 (Cable specific?) Program/Configuration differences to account for? I will/can look at the manuals, but would be nice to have a heads up as not to overlook something.
Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 08:59 AM   #6
WrongWay
Member
United States

WrongWay is offline
 
WrongWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sturgis,Mi
Posts: 32
EEPROM, UVPROM, memory module, flash memory. these are all terms for modular non-volatile memory back-up. SLC 5/01 and 5/02 has a space on the slot for these add-ons, except for flash which wasn't available till 5/03. You are that the fault you have is not this, more like a back plane problem as Ken said. More to your problem though, if your customer is against upgrades and you have a need for a 5/01 cpu, I have four 5/01's frn 6, about 80 I/O modules, and 4 and 7 slot racks. Most of these are new in the box, our old parts guy had an itchy trigger finger.
__________________
John
In the land of plenty, conservation is a foreign word.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 09:06 AM   #7
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,614
The SLC-5/03 is a direct replacement for the 5/01 or 5/02; its feature set includes everything in those controllers.

Since you do have a 1747-UIC there's less pressure to have and ordinary DF1 port.... you'll see on the Forum the hundreds of times the weaknesses of the 1747-PIC/AIC+ driver have been explained.

The serial port on the 5/03 uses a null-modem cable (the 1747-CP3 is popular) and the DF1 Full Duplex driver in RSLinx. Very straightforward.

I realize that 5/01 and 5/02 controllers are cheap on the aftermarket (and maybe RA is still building the 5/02) but I don't like to promote them because they're moderately difficult to connect to with modern computers.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 09:38 AM   #8
SouthPahw
Member
United States

SouthPahw is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heartland U.S.A.
Posts: 25
"(Since you do have a 1747-UIC there's less pressure to have and ordinary DF1 port.... you'll see on the Forum the hundreds of times the weaknesses of the 1747-PIC/AIC+ driver have been explained.")
...been there, went thru those issues and it was ugly for awhile...

Just to confirm terms, the Backplane, board and Rack are one in the same? I currently have a 10-Slot and is full. I believe the best idea is to go with the new/replacement Rack, I/O and 5/03.

I am also using the DH485 Connection to a C-More Panel, which means I will have to reconfigure that?
Thanks again for all the help and advice.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 09:48 AM   #9
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 3,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthPahw View Post
I am also using the DH485 Connection to a C-More Panel, which means I will have to reconfigure that?
.
No the 5/03 has two ports, one is DH485 and the second is RS232
__________________
www.PLCCable.com Save 5% on all cables and trainers, enter coupon code PLCTalk at check out... see our NEW line of PLC programming cables, smaller, cheaper, better....
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 10:58 AM   #10
SouthPahw
Member
United States

SouthPahw is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heartland U.S.A.
Posts: 25
Since upgrading CPU appears to be the best direction at this time, I am using a full 10-Slot Rack, what are the options to including an Ethernet Connection and connectivity via the web? Expansion Rack and Ethernet Card, or is it time to change over to something which would be more upgradeable and friendly?
Once again, I appreciate the help, experience and advice. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 11:40 AM   #11
sthompson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Canada

sthompson is offline
 
sthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vernon, BC
Posts: 1,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthPahw View Post
Since upgrading CPU appears to be the best direction at this time, I am using a full 10-Slot Rack, what are the options to including an Ethernet Connection and connectivity via the web? Expansion Rack and Ethernet Card, or is it time to change over to something which would be more upgradeable and friendly?
Once again, I appreciate the help, experience and advice. Thanks.
With the SLC500 Controllers, your only choice is upgrading to a SLC5/05. It has an EtherNet Port, and an RS-232 Port. If you still need the DH-485, will need a converter such as the 1761-NET-AIC RS-232 to RS-485 Converter.

Stu....
__________________
There's never time to do it right, but there is always time to do it over!
No trees were killed in the creation of this message. However, many electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen Bradley SLC 100 Mark C LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 May 7th, 2010 04:31 AM
Allen Bradley SLC 150 software gafry LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 26th, 2008 11:39 AM
Allen Bradley SLC 100 teci2049raquel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 17th, 2006 11:40 PM
Allen Bradley SLC 150 Larry B LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 17th, 2006 01:26 PM
Fusing for a Allen Bradley SLC 1747-L40B johnnysparks24 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 2nd, 2006 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


.