You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 14th, 2011, 08:50 AM   #1
Silence89e
Member
Iraq

Silence89e is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mosul
Posts: 6
Fancy Exclamation codesys V2.3 with FactoryTalk (OPC server)

hi.... i have an urgent problem, the case is am trying to connect FactoryTalk View 5.10 hmi with codesys v2.3, but i cant import tags from codesys to factorytalk.
codesys has an OPC server, and thus it should allow it to cannect to the factorytalk.

so what should i do???? pleas....

best regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2011, 09:23 AM   #2
Doug_Adam
Member
Australia

Doug_Adam is offline
 
Doug_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 949
I may be missing something, but I think the factorytalk will only import tags from Allen Bradley products. If I am wrong, could someone please say. I have only used this with Allen Bradley.
For Codesys to other HMIs, I usually have to enter stuff by hand. I speed this process up using spread sheets to create text files of tags that can then be imported into both the HMI and Codesys.
If I were you, I would try to first setup a single read and a single write tag manually, and then test your system to see if it works.
Sorry, but I don't think you are going to have an easy time of it.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 04:37 AM   #3
iant
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Australia

iant is offline
 
iant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,661
Are you setting up Modbus comms through OPC server
I have used KEPServer 4.6 for Twido to Panel veiw Plus
it has a large variety - But no Codesys - sorry
__________________

Give all the answers
- People seldom learn.

Guide People to the posibilities
- Their Answers will come easily.
- Their Knowledge will grow.

They will then teach others

Regards
Ian Trost

Last edited by iant; September 15th, 2011 at 04:43 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 04:46 AM   #4
Silence89e
Member
Iraq

Silence89e is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mosul
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug_Adam View Post
I may be missing something, but I think the factorytalk will only import tags from Allen Bradley products. If I am wrong, could someone please say. I have only used this with Allen Bradley.
For Codesys to other HMIs, I usually have to enter stuff by hand. I speed this process up using spread sheets to create text files of tags that can then be imported into both the HMI and Codesys.
If I were you, I would try to first setup a single read and a single write tag manually, and then test your system to see if it works.
Sorry, but I don't think you are going to have an easy time of it.
thanks Doug Adam for your reply...
i have seen somewhere that factorytalk can connect to any application that have an OPC server, but i am having a real hard time here.
rdrast, a member here, told me i may be possible.
i know its better to use factorytalk with AB products, but in my situation i have a licensed factorytalk and an ABB PLC, this PLC uses Codesys as its programming software but its HMI is very poor.

do you know a better software to program ABB PLCs that have a good HMI or can be easily connected to factorytalk??
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 04:50 AM   #5
Silence89e
Member
Iraq

Silence89e is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mosul
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by iant View Post
Are you setting up Modbus comms through OPC server
I have used KEPServer 4.6 for Twido to Panel veiw Plus
it has a large variety - But no Codesys - sorry
thanks iant...
no actually am having an ABB PLC, this PLC uses Codesys as its programming software but its HMI is very poor.

do you know a better software to program ABB PLCs that have a good HMI or can be easily connected to factorytalk??
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 04:51 AM   #6
iant
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Australia

iant is offline
 
iant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,661
I am checking - re post soon
__________________

Give all the answers
- People seldom learn.

Guide People to the posibilities
- Their Answers will come easily.
- Their Knowledge will grow.

They will then teach others

Regards
Ian Trost
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 05:05 AM   #7
iant
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Australia

iant is offline
 
iant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,661
Kep server May Help
There is no direct Twido or ABB Driver - But it works
So E/Net Kepserver runs with FActory talk.
you need to set up Modbus over e/Net that requires the IP addresses correctly.
try it it may work
But I googled ABB opc server - some PDF's and othr details available
__________________

Give all the answers
- People seldom learn.

Guide People to the posibilities
- Their Answers will come easily.
- Their Knowledge will grow.

They will then teach others

Regards
Ian Trost
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 05:07 AM   #8
iant
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Australia

iant is offline
 
iant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,661
Kepserver V4.6 not higher
__________________

Give all the answers
- People seldom learn.

Guide People to the posibilities
- Their Answers will come easily.
- Their Knowledge will grow.

They will then teach others

Regards
Ian Trost
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 05:17 AM   #9
Silence89e
Member
Iraq

Silence89e is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mosul
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by iant View Post
Kepserver V4.6 not higher
hmmmmm.... nice idea iant.
i donno if codesys supports KepServer or not,
should i connect the plc online before i connect codesys it to factorytalk??
i will check it out. really thanks iant.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 06:12 AM   #10
ndzied1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ndzied1 is offline
 
ndzied1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,323
You may want to post this on the CoDeSys forum. They have a specific subject heading subgroup for OPC issues.
http://forum-en.3s-software.com/view...7679d2b42974ae

We use HMIs from Beijer, Exor, Eaton (Microinnovation), and Bosch Rexroth (branded Suetron hardware) to communicate with CoDeSys PLCs. These have drivers that allow you to import the symbol file from your CoDeSys build into the software.

HTB
__________________
nOrM
======================
nOrM=Norman Dziedzic Jr.
"I decry the current tendency to seek patents on algorithms. There are better ways to earn a living than to prevent other people from making use of one's contributions to computer science." Donald Knuth
  Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 04:25 PM   #11
Silence89e
Member
Iraq

Silence89e is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mosul
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndzied1 View Post
You may want to post this on the CoDeSys forum. They have a specific subject heading subgroup for OPC issues.
http://forum-en.3s-software.com/view...7679d2b42974ae

We use HMIs from Beijer, Exor, Eaton (Microinnovation), and Bosch Rexroth (branded Suetron hardware) to communicate with CoDeSys PLCs. These have drivers that allow you to import the symbol file from your CoDeSys build into the software.

HTB
nice idea ndzied1.... thanx, i'll go and see how it goes.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 09:50 AM   #12
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,613
see you on the 3x site
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming an 315 2DP, connecting with an OPC server, Testing a c++ app!! hlvas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 21st, 2010 04:15 PM
OPC Server Siemens djpalaz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 21st, 2009 05:56 AM
OPC server in FT View SE Abdul_Marlin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 8th, 2009 04:36 PM
OPC? Connecting S7-312C - PC. pietervdb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 August 7th, 2008 01:34 PM
citect scada OPC gherz817 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 22nd, 2006 04:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


.