You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 10th, 2011, 10:58 AM   #1
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,261
STEP 7 and RSLogix5000

Not looking for stone throwing or even opinions on this one. More so just looking for some tangible, verifiable facts.

When it comes to Step7 and RSLogix5000, in general, what specifically can be done in one that can't be done in the other? Can anyone cite specific examples of something that can be done in one, that would be monstrous to accomplish the same thing in the other?

It would be nice to separate "taste" from actual "functionality"

For staters, I'll throw out there that Siemens will not work well natively with EthernetIP and AB will not work well natively with Profinet.

And by "native" I mean you do not require a 3rd party device to make it happen.

Another example someone mentioned (unrelated to AB - Siemens) is that GE has double redundancy.

What does one "got" that the other "don't got"?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 04:26 PM   #2
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,645
GE actually offers "triple" redundancy.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 04:33 PM   #3
L D[AR2,P#0.0]
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

L D[AR2,P#0.0] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 5,531
.. this will not be popular in Europe at present
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 04:55 PM   #4
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by L D[AR2,P#0.0] View Post
.. this will not be popular in Europe at present

What's that, the triple redundancy?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 04:58 PM   #5
L D[AR2,P#0.0]
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

L D[AR2,P#0.0] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 5,531
As you may know, various European countries are at risk of financial meltdown and this may result in redundancies of the job kind.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 05:08 PM   #6
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by L D[AR2,P#0.0] View Post
As you may know, various European countries are at risk of financial meltdown and this may result in redundancies of the job kind.
Only with Italy as they have industry.
The rest, not a major threat to your job LD.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 05:36 PM   #7
TurpoUrpo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Finland

TurpoUrpo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkottaras View Post
Only with Italy as they have industry.
The rest, not a major threat to your job LD.
... Americans...
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 05:47 PM   #8
katratzi
Member
katratzi is offline
 
katratzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 210
uhhhh..... Viva Finland ?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2011, 08:17 PM   #9
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,645
Correction: Proud Greek-American!!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011, 05:27 AM   #10
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,261
I am curious whether it is just difficult to come up with an example or just that nobody wants to touch this.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011, 07:14 AM   #11
bosko
Member
Canada

bosko is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 96
from what I remember

here are a few differences:

Siemens:
  1. There is a central software (S7 Manager) for Siemens which is a nice feature. You can see all of your PLCs, HMIs, etc in one software, and when you try to edit the settings, it finds the appropriate software for editing, such as the ladder editor for PLC.
  2. you can do partial downloads. for example, you can choose to download just one DB that you made changes to, or an FC, etc.
  3. Siemens uses addressed based tagging which can get you into trouble. For instance, say you have a UDT with 30 elements, and then you decide that you want to add one more element... you're screwed unless you left spare room in the UDT. If you used that UDT in a DB, everything in that DB will shift by the size of the element you added. This WILL cost you major time if you don't remember.
  4. Siemens is much more confusing and destructive when doing an upload. I saved an online version of a DB once, only to find that all of my tags were now DBX0.0, etc. This too will cost you BIG time, not only in changing the DBs but also anywhere in the code that you used that DB will be shifted now.
  5. horrible SimaticNet software
  6. great support
Rockwell:
  1. completely tag based. No messing around with addresses.
  2. easier to configure communications through RSLinx
  3. easier setting up PLC to PLC comms
  4. no partial download
  5. great support
Please keep in mind that the last S7 project I did was with version 5.2 in 2004 or so. It may be worth mentioning that until version 16 of RSLogix 5000, I would've chosen Siemens, but now Rockwell has addon instructions (welcome to the 21st century).

There are more things but it's back to work for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011, 07:22 AM   #12
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,242
Quote:
3. Siemens uses addressed based tagging which can get you into trouble. For instance, say you have a UDT with 30 elements, and then you decide that you want to add one more element... you're screwed unless you left spare room in the UDT. If you used that UDT in a DB, everything in that DB will shift by the size of the element you added. This WILL cost you major time if you don't remember.
4. Siemens is much more confusing and destructive when doing an upload. I saved an online version of a DB once, only to find that all of my tags were now DBX0.0, etc. This too will cost you BIG time, not only in changing the DBs but also anywhere in the code that you used that DB will be shifted now.
Both of these problems with shifting addresses are because you have absolute address priority.
Change to symbolic address priority.

edit:
And to the original question, I think there is very little that absolutely can be done in one platform and not in the other.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out

Last edited by JesperMP; November 11th, 2011 at 07:25 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011, 07:38 AM   #13
nettogrisen
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

nettogrisen is offline
 
nettogrisen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Here
Posts: 383
I can't say that I like over the other but here's 2 of the top of my head:

Siemens allows for greater address manipulability.

Siemens does not automatically convert datatypes. It gets really old, really fast when you have to convert INT -> REAL and back again etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011, 07:40 AM   #14
jac
Member
Canada

jac is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 126
Both platforms have their advantages and the more I've had to do with Siemens the more I can appreciate some of the techniques that really save time. But the kicker for me are strings and indirect addressing let alone indirect addressing on strings.

Jesper thanks for the tip on "Both of these problems with shifting addresses are because you have absolute address priority. Change to symbolic address priority."
  Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2011, 07:51 AM   #15
bosko
Member
Canada

bosko is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by nettogrisen View Post
I can't say that I like over the other but here's 2 of the top of my head:

Siemens allows for greater address manipulability.

Siemens does not automatically convert datatypes. It gets really old, really fast when you have to convert INT -> REAL and back again etc.

I forgot about that. It gets old really fast.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


.