You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 29th, 2012, 03:35 PM   #1
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,932
RSLogix Emulate 500 and Windows 7 64bit

I have RSLogix Emulate 500 version 6.00.00.07 (CPR9) installed on my Windows 7 64 bit machine and it opens and runs, however, in RSLinx Gateway 2.59.00 there is no emulate driver apparent in my list, and none appears when I am running a project in Emulate.

Is it possible to "go online" using this combination of OS and software?

I am buried in work and don't have time to pore through know-base articles today.

Thanks in advance,
Paul
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012, 05:06 PM   #2
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,588
The Logix500 Emul driver is not an available selection in RSLinx? Have you installed the driver? According to the spreadsheet, W7 x64 should work
Attached Files
File Type: xls RSLinx_Driver_Compatibility_Matrix_v10.xls (137.5 KB, 441 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012, 05:44 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkerekes;471 662
Have you installed the driver?
Is that a separate step?

It's not listed when I configure a driver.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012, 05:47 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,856
I realize it's not the same revision but I wanted to contribute that I have RSLinx Classic 2.57 running on Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, without RSLogix Emulate 500 installed, and the Emulate 500 (DH485) driver is still an option.

The RA Knowledgebase seems to have some conflicting information.

The RSLinx Classic 2.58 Release Notes say the RSEmulate 500 driver is supported in Windows 7.
http://rockwellautomation.custhelp.c...il/a_id/454584

I couldn't find a Knowledgebase edition of the RSLinx Classic 2.59 release notes.

But the current RSLinx Classic support matrix for versions 2.58 and 2.59 shows the RSEmulate 500 driver not supported in Windows Server 2008, Windows Vista, or Windows 7.

http://rockwellautomation.custhelp.c...ail/a_id/58963

So I don't know which one is right. Somebody needs to get their wrist slapped for letting two "current" documents conflict.

Last edited by Ken Roach; February 29th, 2012 at 06:00 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012, 05:53 PM   #5
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,588
Is the driver NOT available in Linx OR did you not install it?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012, 06:40 PM   #6
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkerekes View Post
Is the driver NOT available in Linx OR did you not install it?
I did not install it outside of the normal installation of Emulate 500 and RSLinx. It is not available in the drop down list when I configure drivers.

The first time time I installed Emulate 500 in '06 on my old XP box, and the recent time a couple of months ago, I don't recall the "EMU" driver being a separate installation or optional within the RSLinx/Emulate installation. That may be the case, but I have slept since then

It's not a deal breaker, just something I noticed today when I was trying to analyze some code from a machine that was unavailable for real testing. I was able to figure out what I needed using alternate methods.

I remember installing Emulate, Logix, Linx and others a few months ago on my new Win7 machine, and I thought I tested everything, and maybe I did. A week or two ago, I had problems with RSLinx crashing very frequently, so I updated it from 2.57 to 2.59. In doing that, I may have broken the Emulate driver, and it didn't fix the crashing problem (blowing away the harmony files fixed the crashing problem).

Thanks for the help so far. I will worry about it tomorrow when I get back to work. If necessary, I may go back to RSLinx 2.57 to get it back, since the drivers I gained going to 2.59 are of no use on that PC anyhow.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."

Last edited by OkiePC; February 29th, 2012 at 07:03 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2012, 09:53 PM   #7
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 179
Windows 7 Pro? Just use XP mode to run emulate and linx in
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 07:09 AM   #8
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT116 View Post
Windows 7 Pro? Just use XP mode to run emulate and linx in
I tried to set up RSLinx and FTView Studio in XP Mode and RSLinx can only see one device on our controls lan. I tried two different methods of mapping the virtual NIC and had no luck getting RSLinx to work correctly inside the virtual PC. I have no idea why one point I/O adapter shows up and nothing else...My other goal was to use the Crimson 3 emulator which does work, except it can't "talk" through the real NIC either.

My IT guy is supposed to get me an XP license so I can use VMWare for FTView.

As for the Emulate problem, I think it is what Ken Roach said. They took the driver away in version 2.59 of RSLinx.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."

Last edited by OkiePC; March 1st, 2012 at 07:12 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 08:28 AM   #9
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
I tried to set up RSLinx and FTView Studio in XP Mode and RSLinx can only see one device on our controls lan. I tried two different methods of mapping the virtual NIC and had no luck getting RSLinx to work correctly inside the virtual PC. I have no idea why one point I/O adapter shows up and nothing else...My other goal was to use the Crimson 3 emulator which does work, except it can't "talk" through the real NIC either.

My IT guy is supposed to get me an XP license so I can use VMWare for FTView.

As for the Emulate problem, I think it is what Ken Roach said. They took the driver away in version 2.59 of RSLinx.
I'll have to look at RSLinx 2.59.
What processor do you have? It may not support virtulization or its turned off in the BIOS. I have a i7 860 which does support virtulization and I can see everything through XP mode but then I also have a i7 2600K which does not support virtulization so I can only see some things through XP mode kinda like what your experiencing.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 12:19 PM   #10
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,932
Well, another identical machine with RSLinx version 2.57 still has the driver available. I guess next time I get bored and can do without Linx for an hour I will revert to the older version. This is what I get for surfing the bleeding edge...and I know better...
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."
  Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 12:51 PM   #11
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 179
Yea but the edge is so much fun
  Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2012, 10:59 AM   #12
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 7,932
Well fudge, I uninstalled RSLinx v2.59, and reinstalled v2.57

Lo and behold, the "SLC 500 (DH485) Emulator driver" is now listed and I can even select it, but the stinking "Add New" button is greyed out...

I guess I never did actually go online using this win7 x64 PC and Emulate 500.


Paul

EDIT: DOh, nevermind. It must be greyed out becuase it is already running...it was already in my backed up rsx file and was restored after the installation...I am now online with RSLogix emulate 500, using windows 7 x64 and RSLinx v2.57.00.14 CPR9 SR3
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

"You can lead a horse to water but if he's got his head up his as$ he may die of thirst anyway."

Last edited by OkiePC; March 8th, 2012 at 11:02 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2012, 02:25 PM   #13
techwing
Member
United States

techwing is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1
RSLinx 2.59 registry "patch" to resolve Emulator 500 driver issue

I received the following from RA support. It has allowed me to get the emulator to show up in RSLinx 2.59 running Win 7 x64 Pro. Essentially a manual patch to create the needed registry key (the driver DLL turns out to be installed already).



Open the Registry Editor (Start-->Enter regedit in the open field).
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE-->SOFTWARE-->Wow6432Node-->Rockwell Software-->RSLinx-->Loadable Drivers.
Right Click on Loadable Drivers and select New-->Key and name the key EMU500
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->DWORD (32-bit) Value. The name of the key should be AutoLoad. Double click on the AutoLoad to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value dialog. Enter 0 under Value Data and select Hexadecimal under Base. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 again from the left-hand side and select New-->DWORD (32-bit) Value. The name of the key should be DriverID. Double click on the DriverID to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value dialog. Enter 13 under Value Data and select Hexadecimal under Base. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->DWORD (32-bit) Value. The name of the key should be Flags. Double click on the Flags to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value dialog. Enter 2 under Value Data and select Hexadecimal under Base. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->String Value. The name of the key should be Description. Double click on the Description to open the Edit String dialog. Enter SLC 500 (DH485) Emulator driver under Value Data. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->String Value. The name of the key should be DLL. Double click on the DLL to open the Edit String dialog. Enter ABEMU5.DRV under Value Data. Click OK button when finished.
The SLC (DH485) Emulator Driver should now appear available in RSLinx to configure.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2012, 07:23 PM   #14
antwan_jacoup
Member
Egypt

antwan_jacoup is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: alexandria
Posts: 4
Emulate Done

Quote:
Originally Posted by techwing View Post
I received the following from RA support. It has allowed me to get the emulator to show up in RSLinx 2.59 running Win 7 x64 Pro. Essentially a manual patch to create the needed registry key (the driver DLL turns out to be installed already).



Open the Registry Editor (Start-->Enter regedit in the open field).
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE-->SOFTWARE-->Wow6432Node-->Rockwell Software-->RSLinx-->Loadable Drivers.
Right Click on Loadable Drivers and select New-->Key and name the key EMU500
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->DWORD (32-bit) Value. The name of the key should be AutoLoad. Double click on the AutoLoad to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value dialog. Enter 0 under Value Data and select Hexadecimal under Base. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 again from the left-hand side and select New-->DWORD (32-bit) Value. The name of the key should be DriverID. Double click on the DriverID to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value dialog. Enter 13 under Value Data and select Hexadecimal under Base. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->DWORD (32-bit) Value. The name of the key should be Flags. Double click on the Flags to open the Edit DWORD (32-bit) Value dialog. Enter 2 under Value Data and select Hexadecimal under Base. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->String Value. The name of the key should be Description. Double click on the Description to open the Edit String dialog. Enter SLC 500 (DH485) Emulator driver under Value Data. Click OK button when finished.
Right click on EMU500 and select New-->String Value. The name of the key should be DLL. Double click on the DLL to open the Edit String dialog. Enter ABEMU5.DRV under Value Data. Click OK button when finished.
The SLC (DH485) Emulator Driver should now appear available in RSLinx to configure.
Thank you very much
  Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2012, 09:46 PM   #15
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,030
I can confirm that did the trick in version 2.59.

I was able to create the driver, download and go online to the emulated SLC.

I am including a .reg file that has all those steps done for you.

You can open/edit the file in Notepad if you want to verify the contents. Double-click on the .reg file to update your registry.

OG
Attached Files
File Type: zip Emulate 500 Emulate Registry addition.zip (464 Bytes, 644 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where down load demo RSLogix 500 software? dyan256 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 June 6th, 2013 07:24 AM
RSLogix 500 (Version 8.4.XX) & Windows 7 64 Bit burbrink LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 November 9th, 2011 11:27 AM
Window 7 and RSLogix 500 welshwizard LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 4th, 2011 12:47 AM
Windows7 RSlogix 500 PcRider LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 June 19th, 2010 12:43 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 10:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


.