You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 10th, 2012, 01:33 PM   #1
PLCStan
Member
Nigeria

PLCStan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lagos
Posts: 2
Modicon Tsx Communication

Please, can any one explain to me how to establish communication with a Modicon PLC TSX model? What cable and Programming software to use?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2012, 02:08 PM   #2
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 898
Is it a Micro, a Premium, a Quantum, etc etc? You haven't fully specified the processor. A catalog number would be useful.

I've only used the Premium processors with Unity Pro as the programming software - I believe the older offering from Schneider was software called PL7. How old is this processor?

the version of Unity / PL7 you need depends on the processor - there are about 3 offerings for each software I believe - small, medium and large for Unity.

Cables - again depending on the processor, but Ethernet comes standard with many of the higher range processors, and i know the M340 and Premiums come with a USB port. Ethernet is my preference, since we use remote STB I/O racks which communicate over ethernet I can program the PLC as well as configure / troubleshoot I/O from the same computer.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2012, 03:14 PM   #3
PLCStan
Member
Nigeria

PLCStan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lagos
Posts: 2
Thanks Saffa for your response.

It is actually a TSX 37_08 PLC Model.

Please, do you also know how to configure the software for communication?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2012, 11:11 PM   #4
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 898
Hi there,

I haven't used that model before so I'm not really sure.

By "communication", do you mean setting up the programming software (what are you using to program this?) or some sort of I/O server for reading values from the PLC?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2012, 01:44 PM   #5
aslan
Member
Turkey

aslan is offline
 
aslan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: İstanbul
Posts: 57
Program is PL7 Pro. You need special cable for comunication. You can buy from Schneider, ebay or you can make your own cable. Link is;

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=67970

Software run on XP. For cable you need to use serial converter. PL7 pro is easy to use program.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2016, 04:15 AM   #6
wlkw87
Member
Malaysia

wlkw87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: malaysia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
Is it a Micro, a Premium, a Quantum, etc etc? You haven't fully specified the processor. A catalog number would be useful.

I've only used the Premium processors with Unity Pro as the programming software - I believe the older offering from Schneider was software called PL7. How old is this processor?

the version of Unity / PL7 you need depends on the processor - there are about 3 offerings for each software I believe - small, medium and large for Unity.

Cables - again depending on the processor, but Ethernet comes standard with many of the higher range processors, and i know the M340 and Premiums come with a USB port. Ethernet is my preference, since we use remote STB I/O racks which communicate over ethernet I can program the PLC as well as configure / troubleshoot I/O from the same computer.
Existing PLC is TSX P57353A, it has 1 Ethernet module, TSX ETY4103 besides it. Is that possible to upload program from the PLC?

But I don't know the IP address for the Ethernet module. Is that any method to auto detect IP address for the Ethernet module?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2016, 03:07 PM   #7
redbarron55
Member
United States

redbarron55 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 125
If it was programmed with Unity Pro then it can be uploaded from the PLC.
As to the IP address that can be decoded from the MAC address if it was not changed from the factory default (not used in the system perhaps.)
I sometimes use Scan.exe to search for an address, but it may take a while.
Others may have a suggestion.
Schneider products equipped with an Ethernet port have a default IP address which is derived from its MAC address (unique identifier assigned by the manufacturer).

For an M340 PLC, the default IP address format is 84.x.x.x where:

84 = fixed value
x.x.x = the last three fields of the default IP address.
These last three fields are obtained by converting the last three hexadecimal bytes from the MAC address into decimal values.

Example:

The MAC address for an M340 PLC is 000053121AC4.

The conversion of the last three bytes from the MAC address into decimal values gives:

16#12=10#18
16#1A=10#26
16#C4=10#196
Therefore, the default IP address for this M340 PLC is 84.18.26.196.

Notes:

For more information on this subject, refer to the Unity Pro online help (Deriving IP parameters from a MAC address).

The MAC address is marked on the module.

The method for deriving the IP address of BMXNOE0100 and BMXNOE0110 modules is exactly the same:

It is polite to write the assigned IP address in the PLC for the ones who may follow you.

Usually those I follow have not done so, b ut there is always the first time.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2016, 05:58 AM   #8
tragically1969
Member
United Kingdom

tragically1969 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlkw87 View Post
Existing PLC is TSX P57353A, it has 1 Ethernet module, TSX ETY4103 besides it. Is that possible to upload program from the PLC?

But I don't know the IP address for the Ethernet module. Is that any method to auto detect IP address for the Ethernet module?
As above, that's a PL7 processor, you need PL7 program.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2016, 01:35 AM   #9
Brendonh
Member
South Africa

Brendonh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tragically1969 View Post
As above, that's a PL7 processor, you need PL7 program.
The A at the end of the Model number means its unity compatible, the software could be either PL7 or Unity depending on the firmware.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2016, 01:55 AM   #10
wlkw87
Member
Malaysia

wlkw87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: malaysia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brendonh View Post
The A at the end of the Model number means its unity compatible, the software could be either PL7 or Unity depending on the firmware.
Thanks for the information
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2016, 02:15 AM   #11
wlkw87
Member
Malaysia

wlkw87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: malaysia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbarron55 View Post
If it was programmed with Unity Pro then it can be uploaded from the PLC.
As to the IP address that can be decoded from the MAC address if it was not changed from the factory default (not used in the system perhaps.)
I sometimes use Scan.exe to search for an address, but it may take a while.
Others may have a suggestion.
Schneider products equipped with an Ethernet port have a default IP address which is derived from its MAC address (unique identifier assigned by the manufacturer).

For an M340 PLC, the default IP address format is 84.x.x.x where:

84 = fixed value
x.x.x = the last three fields of the default IP address.
These last three fields are obtained by converting the last three hexadecimal bytes from the MAC address into decimal values.

Example:

The MAC address for an M340 PLC is 000053121AC4.

The conversion of the last three bytes from the MAC address into decimal values gives:

16#12=10#18
16#1A=10#26
16#C4=10#196
Therefore, the default IP address for this M340 PLC is 84.18.26.196.

Notes:

For more information on this subject, refer to the Unity Pro online help (Deriving IP parameters from a MAC address).

The MAC address is marked on the module.

The method for deriving the IP address of BMXNOE0100 and BMXNOE0110 modules is exactly the same:

It is polite to write the assigned IP address in the PLC for the ones who may follow you.

Usually those I follow have not done so, b ut there is always the first time.

It has been program into PL7 file because the existing Windows is Xp and the file extension is sts.

I found PLC need to be flashed with firmware before it can program with Unity Pro.

Is that any method to convert the program file from PL7 to Unity Pro?

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=90943
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2016, 03:44 AM   #12
Brendonh
Member
South Africa

Brendonh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlkw87 View Post
It has been program into PL7 file because the existing Windows is Xp and the file extension is sts.

I found PLC need to be flashed with firmware before it can program with Unity Pro.

Is that any method to convert the program file from PL7 to Unity Pro?

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=90943
Unity converts the application, ive only done it from concept plc's but for PL7 i believe you need to export the application from within PL7 and you end up with an .fef file, and unity opens and converts that.

keep in mind if you are going to update the firmware you will need a modbus plus cable.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 04:09 PM   #13
mouhab_ah
Member
Egypt

mouhab_ah is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Egypt
Posts: 6
Hi All,
i have PLC Modicon TSX 3722 Micro i need to know where should i put the socket of programming cable on Ter or Aux port.
and i see the file for making cable by myself for the converter should be B&B or i can use another model like Adam.
thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashing TER light on Modicon TSX Micro peanutsue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 23rd, 2011 12:03 PM
Errors i Modicon TSX P57 202 cares_nayk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 24th, 2008 06:27 AM
PID Control with Modicon TSX Micro 3722 kop LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 8th, 2007 05:13 AM
Modicon TSX Microscan to AB Micrologix communication kulkago1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 27th, 2006 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


.