You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 20th, 2012, 01:07 AM   #1
peelseeds
Member
Canada

peelseeds is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Not at your house.
Posts: 71
Fancy Exclamation Great in the school world. new to the real world.

Hey everyone, I think i'm in a little over my head. school made me very confident with the familiarity of Rockwells software; RSLogix5000, FactoryTalk view studio, RSLinx, and some of the tools each of these application comes with. come the real world, I'm losing my confidence.

one of the main things I need to learn is how to download to the actual HMI's. I've never done this before, I have a strong IT background, great at operating computers, understand technical terminologies; I've done some searches here to find some insight, and I've read some things about using panelbuild32, using memory cards to transfer etc. not sure what method to use.

since the HMI application is created in FactoryTalk view studios, I messed around with that (offline of course and with a copy of the original application. I have a list/link of all the panels IP addresses (the shortcuts point to a FTP server where an existing .MER file exists for each panel). we are using DeviceNet.

NOTE: within FactoryTalk I've made sure all necessary users have been added, runtime security is setup properly for my users, my communication setup right now, points to the PLC so I can use my laptop as a 2nd hmi.

Assumption #1, create a runtime application --> .MER file. use the transfer utility --> select the created .MER file as the SOURCE file, select option parameters (run application at startup, and Replace communications) then in the destination terminal window --> select the HMI's IP I want to download to.

this is my assumption #2, create a runtime application and export/save to a .MER file --> since I have a list/link of all the panels IP addresses (the shortcuts point to a FTP server where an existing .MER file exists for each panel). Do I just copy or replace the existing .MER file on the FTP server?

I hope I'm not missing any critical information.

any pointers would be greatly appreciated and of course a precise answer to my question if possible.

also some pointers about configuring DeviceNet with RSNetworx would be a good idea to learn, just in case I need to add nodes. (is the RSnetworx tutorial.bat a good place to start?)

Thank you to anyone who's attempted to read this and provide their input. it is greatly appreciated.

take care,

-peelseeds .

Last edited by peelseeds; March 20th, 2012 at 01:13 AM. Reason: rephrasing, its been a long day
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 01:53 AM   #2
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 898
Hi PeelSeeds,

From the info you've given, Assumption #1 is the way to go. I myself only have just recently started using FT View and that's pretty much the process I've just used a couple weeks back to set up a replacement Panelview 1000+ (They don't seem to like swimming much...).

I think your FTP server is probably a "storage area" for the runtime files, just incase anyone needs to restore a runtime file to an existing or replacement panel. Hopefully someone else knows, if it is a repository for the runtime files then it will probably need updating if you update a panel.

Cheers,

Steve
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 06:21 AM   #3
peelseeds
Member
Canada

peelseeds is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Not at your house.
Posts: 71
Saffa,

Thank you very much for your response.

can anyone else suggest ways I can understand and learn DeviceNet thoroughly in the shortest amount of time?

Thanks,

-peelseeds .
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 09:06 AM   #4
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,580
Peelseeds: try downloading "the devicenet bible"
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 10:05 AM   #5
peelseeds
Member
Canada

peelseeds is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Not at your house.
Posts: 71
widelto, found it, thank you very much


is there anything similar to this in regards to GuardLogix controllers?

Last edited by peelseeds; March 20th, 2012 at 10:14 AM. Reason: last minute question
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 10:31 AM   #6
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 597
I've always uploaded my .MER files to my panelviews in one of two ways.

1) You can put the file on a USB flash drive, then copy the file from the USB flash drive to the Panelview file system. Just note that the .mer files have to be in an certain folder structure, don't remember the exact details.

2) In FactoryTalk Studio, go to Tools -> ME Transfer Utility. Using the program, you can find a path to the Panelview in RSlinx and upload directly to the filesystem.

Also, learning how to use DeviceNet and RSNetworks may be a good thing. I know we had a machine where i used to work that used DeviceNet and it gave the regular maintenance guys fits. They would just grab a photoeye or proc sensor out of the store room and change it out to try to troubleshoot a problem. Well before long, all the spares in the storeroom had random node addresses and caused more problems than it answered. You would then have to go reset all the nodes back to the correct address, and then find out what the problem with the machine was.

Last edited by Helliana; March 20th, 2012 at 10:36 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 11:40 AM   #7
Doylen
Member
United States

Doylen is offline
 
Doylen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 42
All good except "replacing communication" part. Do you really want to do that? That means, whatever you programmed via offline setup can be overwritten to online enterprise file. I won't mess with that if I was you. Welcome to PLC & FT world. You'll love it.
__________________
Doylen from Virginia
Does your supervisor knows you're helping others not your company?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2012, 07:17 PM   #8
peelseeds
Member
Canada

peelseeds is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Not at your house.
Posts: 71
Doylen, I don't think I fully understand what you're trying to say. could you provide an example when someone might want to use that parameter? I think I understand why someone might not want to use it, but some clarification would help greatly.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2012, 05:28 PM   #9
brendan.buchan
Member
Australia

brendan.buchan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by peelseeds View Post
Doylen, I don't think I fully understand what you're trying to say. could you provide an example when someone might want to use that parameter? I think I understand why someone might not want to use it, but some clarification would help greatly.

Thanks
What he is saying is that it is not necessary to tick the "Replace communications" box unless you have made some changes to the RSLinx Enterprise communications setup in FT View Studio and specifically want to replace/update the communications settings on the HMI.

If you are just doing some minor changes to a screen then the majority of the time it is not necessary to replace the comm's settings.

An example of when you would want to replace the comm's settings is if you are adding in a new PLC that the HMI has to talk to.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 07:31 AM   #10
peelseeds
Member
Canada

peelseeds is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Not at your house.
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendan.buchan View Post
What he is saying is that it is not necessary to tick the "Replace communications" box unless you have made some changes to the RSLinx Enterprise communications setup in FT View Studio and specifically want to replace/update the communications settings on the HMI.

If you are just doing some minor changes to a screen then the majority of the time it is not necessary to replace the comm's settings.

An example of when you would want to replace the comm's settings is if you are adding in a new PLC that the HMI has to talk to.
brendan.buchan, Got it. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix 1400 - Rockwell's first real contender in the brick world. TConnolly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 30 May 18th, 2009 12:45 PM
Example of a real world PID controller Pandiani LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 21st, 2008 10:23 AM
Using Computer to Control Real World riyajahamad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 17th, 2004 02:08 AM
Experience with PLC jayshah11 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 February 27th, 2003 09:07 AM
Real World Problem Vietnam Bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 23rd, 2002 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


.