You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 6th, 2012, 05:57 PM   #1
RMore
Member
United States

RMore is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kenmore, NY
Posts: 25
Access to PLC and HMI from remote developer

I am working on a PLC based project and would like to give temperary access to the PLC and HMI to a consultant who is located remotely and is outside our corporate network. I have a laptop with wifi access to the internet and am using my network port to connect to just the HMI and PLC via an Ethernet switch. Is there a software application that will tunnel out to the consultants computer and give him access to the PLC and HMI via the network?

The PLC is a M340 (using Unity Pro) and the HMI is a Magelis (using Vijeo Designer).

I found a standalone product that will do this, supposedly without requiring IT support. However, I only need something temperary, so I was wondering if I can do the same thing using my laptop.

Any suggestions?

Last edited by RMore; June 6th, 2012 at 06:01 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 10:14 PM   #2
DwSoFt
Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 219
can you bridge your lan and wlan networks to eachother.
im not sure if this is possible or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2012, 10:26 PM   #3
bce123
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

bce123 is offline
 
bce123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 1,173
logmein
__________________
"You can teach a dog to sit and lie down but then he justs gets lazy"
  Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2012, 07:45 AM   #4
RMore
Member
United States

RMore is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kenmore, NY
Posts: 25
The consultant needs to be able to use his Unity Pro and Vjieo applications to connect to the devices in order to upload the programs.

I was wondering about using a general service like logmein or gotomypc, however, I'm not sure about whether these services allow the client computer to access devices on a seperate network than the one used for the service.

Does anyone have experience or an example of this?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 09:52 AM   #5
Don Know
Member
United States

Don Know is offline
 
Don Know's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 5
Try Teamviewer

http://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx
No installs needed, only internet access from both PCs. The company PC can have a password embedded in the teamviewer software.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 10:49 AM   #6
JoseM
Member
United States

JoseM is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 301
Like Don mention, install Teamviewer on your laptop and give it secured password. Connect your laptop to the network switch that allows you access to the M340 and the Magellis. Make sure that you have access to the internet from your laptop when doing this.

Ask the consultant to install Teamviewer also on his computer and share the password of your laptop with him. Now he can connect to your computer via the internet and use the Unity Pro and Vjieo applications you have installed on your machine to get the uploads he requires.

Ultimately he can transfer the files from your laptop computer to his computer via the internet.

Last edited by JoseM; June 8th, 2012 at 10:53 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 11:27 AM   #7
RMore
Member
United States

RMore is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kenmore, NY
Posts: 25
I don't have Unity Pro or Vijeo installed on my machine. The consultant has the tools, not me (no money ion the budget for the development software ... ug). The solution I'm looking for requires that the IP addresses of the PLC and HMI be made are available to the applications runnning on the remote machine. e Won has a hardware device that has this capability, however, it requires adding hardware (which is alos not inthe budget ... ug ug ).

I was hoping for a VPN solution that creates an outgoing connection from a laptop connected to the internet thru a factory network(via wifi), while also being connected to the ethernet switch inside the machine on a seperate network(via ethernet). The outgoing connection is required so that there is no conflicts with the firewall.
Unfortunately, I'm not an IT or network guy so I'm not sure what type of utilities might be available that gives this capability.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2012, 12:37 PM   #8
The Plc Kid
Member
United States

The Plc Kid is offline
 
The Plc Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macon, Georgia
Posts: 3,025
Use free Hamachi to create a VPN connection for the consultant.

https://secure.logmein.com/products/...i/default.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magelis hmi xbtg4320 and a twido plc twdlcda24drf asim_rana LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 February 3rd, 2012 01:37 PM
siemens simotion plc and HMI access via internet mohan raj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 2nd, 2012 12:34 AM
The best choice for SLC 5/04 remote HMI access. mjcandlec LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 22nd, 2009 05:35 PM
Remote Access to Facilities Network for PLC / HMI Troubleshooting jeffconn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 August 27th, 2009 05:14 PM
Setpoint Adjustment in RTU's Jim Knee LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 20th, 2006 03:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


.