You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 1st, 2012, 02:42 PM   #1
Karac
Member
United States

Karac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
Automation Direct passwords

I've just recieved a call from a prospective client. It seems they've had a parting of the ways with the guy who was doing their programming and on the way out he stuck a password on their model 440 DL405.

I've never worked on that particular model, and I've never used the password option. Can anyone give me an idea of what is locked - can I even view the ladder logic, or would it be completely battened down?

Also, is there a semi-reasonable way to crack that password - say less than 8 hours? Well, a way other than getting the number of the guy who did it and just buying the number.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 02:53 PM   #2
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 5,446
Totally locked down

Buy the number or start rewriting. All that AutomationDirect can do is wipe the CPU.

Threats of massive lawsuits sometimes helps.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 02:55 PM   #3
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,614
No one here is going to discuss passwork cracks period. Even waht for sounds like a resonable request. I don't know anything about Automation Direct, but I imagine that you can't go online with it. the company need to persue the person yo changed the password, and if need be start crimminal proceedings against him. That's a form of sabotage.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 05:27 PM   #4
The Plc Kid
Member
United States

The Plc Kid is offline
 
The Plc Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Macon, Georgia
Posts: 3,053
It can be unlocked but it would be tough to get Automation Direct to do so. The passwords are known by a few integrators so ask around and you may get lucky but they are not as well known as the passwords for AB and some others.

It can be unlocked though trust me.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 06:12 PM   #5
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Plc Kid View Post

It can be unlocked though trust me.
I would pay money for it.... I buy a ton of used equipment and every other manufacture has a way to wipe out the memory or you can flash it and clear everything but not AD, I have 10 250-1 and a few 260's in a box waiting until I get a few more, they all have passwords and no way to just clear them, I normally get about 15 then send them all in and have them cleared, its just a pain
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers (New ControlLogix), Fluke Meters, Programming Lessons, MicroLogix 1400, 1100, 1000 and 1762-I/O.... all your automation needs
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 06:20 PM   #6
bce123
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

bce123 is offline
 
bce123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
all have passwords and no way to just clear them
I know of at least 1 case where I cleared a 450 processor I don't remember it being top secret AD walked me through it! Thinking back I may of been The first person If not one of the first to use one of these? It,s been a while!
__________________
"You can teach a dog to sit and lie down but then he justs gets lazy"
  Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 09:48 PM   #7
jrwb4gbm
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

jrwb4gbm is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 1,684
Info in the manual says the PW is 8 digits, each one is from 0 to 9. You might try guessing a few common ones such as 00000001 or 12345678. Who knows, you might get lucky.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 02:38 AM   #8
rpoet
Member
United States

rpoet is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwb4gbm View Post
Info in the manual says the PW is 8 digits, each one is from 0 to 9. You might try guessing a few common ones such as 00000001 or 12345678. Who knows, you might get lucky.
Unless the PLC has to talk with anything else, such as an HMI. In that case, the first "digit" is 'A' followed by seven digits.

I've seen several cases where the PW was A[phone number]. ie. A1234567

YMMV


-rpoet
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 09:03 AM   #9
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,480
From the DL-06 AD manual:
Quote:
Warning: Make sure you remember your password. If you forget your password you will not be able to access the cpu. The Automation Direct plc must be returned to the factory to have the password (along with the ladder project) removed. It is the policy of Automation Direct to require the memory of the plc to be cleared along with the password.

Last edited by Lancie1; August 2nd, 2012 at 09:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen bradley micrologix 1400 to automation direct gs 2 drives kaw10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 19th, 2012 12:43 PM
Automation Direct Modbus TCP JACMAN LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 April 17th, 2009 10:36 AM
Automation Direct PLC's Opinions Duwop LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 44 October 11th, 2007 08:35 AM
Automation Direct Money4Nothing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 September 23rd, 2006 08:21 AM
Direct Logic Plc's (automation direct) Johnny Rotten LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 28 January 11th, 2005 06:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


.