You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 12th, 2012, 08:43 AM   #1
FandA
Member
United States

FandA is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Friendswood, Tx
Posts: 9
MicroLogix 1400 ethernet communication with CompactLogix

What is the best message instruction to use between the MicroLogix 1400 and the CompactLogix L32e?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2012, 12:54 PM   #2
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by FandA View Post
What is the best message instruction to use between the MicroLogix 1400 and the CompactLogix L32e?
Coming from someone who has done this exact thing before and assuming you are doing this over ethernet, I recommend that you put all the messaging routine inside the ML1400. On the Logix5000 side you will want to go under menu Logic>Map PLC/SLC Messages and associate your tags with SLC style memory files.

On the ML1400 side you will simply have a subroutine with the standard MSG instructions. Just have it poll a read and a write cyclically. I usually base it purely off the handshaking signals and do not introduce any time delays.

The reason I recommend putting this routine in on the ML1400 is that I ran into a situation where if the ML1400 lost power for any reason it would take 9 minutes to re-establish communication between the two. Something gets stuck on Logix5000 side that has a very long timeout. I spent a day and a half trying to work it out to no avail. Once I moved the messaging routine to the ML1400 it would re-establish comms in under 20 seconds.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2012, 01:36 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,733
It's actually simplest to put the MSG instruction in the CompactLogix, since you can directly enter an SLC/PLC style Data Table Address into an MSG instruction's remote address field in RSLogix 5000.

If you're going to put the MSG instruction in the MicroLogix, you must configure an array tag (usually an INT[x] type) in the CompactLogix to be equivalent to an SLC Data Table. This is configured from the main menu: Logix -> Map PLC/SLC Messages.

Let's say you have an INT[10] array named "MicroData[x]" in the CompactLogix, mapped to Data Table 10.

From the MicroLogix MSG instruction perspective, this is "N10:0-9".

This "mapped array" serves as the data source for Reads, and the data destination for Writes.

Use the "500 Data Table Read/Write" message type selection in the MicroLogix, not the 485CIF or PLC-5 read/write or the CIP Generic.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2012, 02:18 PM   #4
DamianInRochester
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

DamianInRochester is offline
 
DamianInRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 1,251
It might also be helpful to read through this post

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=61491
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controllogix communication to micro 1400 via Ethernet Jeff23spl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 November 16th, 2011 05:37 PM
How do I configure ethernet communication to a new MicroLogix 1400? FSPT_Tech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 October 18th, 2011 11:47 AM
MicroLogix 1400 Network seaston_65 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 15th, 2011 12:57 PM
Micrologix 1400 Communication rmb550 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 23rd, 2011 10:48 AM
Micrologix 1400 Modbus & Ethernet rmb550 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 19th, 2011 02:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


.