PV550 Micrologix 1200 Communications Question

IanR

Hello everyone! I've been loaned a Micrologix 1200 (1762-L24BWAR) and Panelview 550 Keypad model (2711-B5A16) with the goal of using my free time to learn far more about PLCs than our course covers.

The PLC came with a laptop and cables, and I've confirmed that RSLinx communicates with both devices.

From RSLogix500 I can access the PLC, and from PanelBuilder32 I can access the PV550. (Both have nothing in memory)

Here are my questions/problems -

* Our course only included an introduction to PLCs, it's only goal was to enable us to recognize them in the field, and have an idea of their capabilities

* I'm interested in learning far more

* I have no reference materials except the help files from RSLogix and PanelBuilder (the RSLogix help files are fantastic, PanelBuilder, not so much)

* I have some experience (from way back when) in java programming, so using the ladder editor is fairly straightforward

* I have nothing to relate PanelBuilder to

* After 2 days searching the internet I *THINK* that I should be using the MSG function in my ladder to both send and receive data from the PV550

* what do I do on the PV550 / in PanelBuilder to initiate or receive a communication from the PLC?

For the sake of simplicity, and learning one thing at a time all I want to do is program start and stop buttons on the screen of the PV550.

The PLC runs this :
Code:
 XIC B3:0/0 BST XIC B3:0/1 NXB XIC O:0.0/3 BND OTE O:0.0/3

that's it. Two bits. O:0/3 is just a little green indicator light.

* MSG needs a message file, do I just use the first two bits here instead of B3?

* Where does SVC come into things?

* In the "MSG Setup Screen" what should my communications protocol be? (500CPU, 485CIF, PLC5)

* In the "MSG Setup Screen" what is my data table address?

* In the "MSG Setup Screen" what do I enter for the "Target Device" info?

Hell, let's just admit that I have no idea what I'm doing with the MSG Setup Screen...