You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 4th, 2013, 12:50 PM   #1
Nametag
Member
Canada

Nametag is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 4
Panelview 1000 updating Floats

Hello this is my first post go easy on me please.

I am having an issue with a panelview 1000 (2711-T10G1) i am getting an error "661 Timeout- no block transfer writes" The panelview communicates with the 1747-L532c/d 5/03 CPU through a 1747-sn RIO Scanner. There is also a Wonderware PC/HMI connected to the programming port on the PLC communicating through (DF-1 I think) But The Wonderware updates with no issues. Level is polled by wonderware and a Volume calculation is done and sent back to the plc and then written to the panelview. The #F and #N are COP to #M0 to write to the panelview instead of BTW because BTW is not supported. The #N seem to update on the panelview but the #F do not.

If power is cycled to the panelview or i restart from the system pages the floats will update once but not continuously. If I disconnect the Wonderware PC, the Panelview Will update the last value calculated in Wonderware and I can change the value in rslogix500 data table and it updates on the panelview.
I changed one of the read/write registers in wonderware and then MOV it to the register written to the panelview in case the read/write tags in wonderware was the issue but did not make a difference. Also the operators tell me this problem comes and goes for months at a time....

In the panelview
Comm Setup. RIO
type: slc5/03 os302 1747-sn series b
Rack: 2
Module : 6,7 box is checked
last chassis: checked
baud rate: 230400
block transfer addresses line up

PLC Chan0 - System
DF1- full duplex
Baud: 9600
Parity: none
Stop bits: 1
Source ID: 9
No Handshaking
Error Detection : CRC
Embedded responses : Enabled
Duplicate packet detect is checked

Chan0- User
ASCII
Baud: 9600
Parity: none
Stop bits: 1
data bits : 8
no handshaking
delete mode: ignore

chan1- system
DH485
Baud: 19200
node address: 1
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2013, 01:04 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,710
There's probably either a noise problem on the RIO cable, or something wrong with the Block Transfer Write logic in the SLC.

You'd have to post the whole SLC-500 program for an experienced user to have a look if you want to pursue this as a community troubleshooting project.

Do the BTW error message and the "data not updating" issues seem to happen at the same time, or are they separate occurrences ?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2013, 02:12 PM   #3
Nametag
Member
Canada

Nametag is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 4
Do the BTW error message and the "data not updating" issues seem to happen at the same time, or are they separate occurrences ?

The issues are at the same time, the error "pops-up" about every two minutes or so. When the wonderware pc is disconnected the error does not come up and i can enter values in the data viewer and the panelview updates.

I have uploaded the .rss file
Attached Files
File Type: zip RIO comm issue.zip (140.3 KB, 3 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2013, 09:08 AM   #4
Nametag
Member
Canada

Nametag is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 4
How would one troubleshoot noise on the RIO cable?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2013, 09:26 AM   #5
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,240
Quote:
The issues are at the same time, the error "pops-up" about every two minutes or so.
I seem to remember that type of error happens when one device is "faster" than the other. Some message bits can be lost. Your Panelview is set at 230400 baud, which is much faster than the PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2013, 11:45 AM   #6
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10,710
There can't be a speed mismatch: RIO won't work at all if the devices aren't set for the correct data rate.

The 1747-SN has some diagnostic information in the M1 file that you can copy out of it periodically and examine in controller memory. It's described in the 1747-SN User Manual starting on page 4-23. Of particular interest to you should be the Retry Counters, described on page 4-30.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfacing Panelview 1000 with SLC 5/04 of Allen Bradley ssana168 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 5th, 2012 10:01 PM
Need Help :Panelview Plus 1000 & SLC 5/04 communication vinitch LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 23rd, 2011 07:53 PM
Panelview 1000 Com Problems junior LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 15th, 2008 05:15 PM
Panelview 900 to Panelview 1000 sgates LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 30th, 2007 09:49 AM
Can't see Panelview Plus 1000 via Controlnet johnlam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 29th, 2007 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


.