You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 10th, 2004, 07:05 AM   #1
ezal
Member
Malaysia

ezal is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: kl
Posts: 2
Unhappy 0-10volts simulator for my plc

goodday everyone,could you kindly advise me on how to make a simple 0-10volts simulator for my plc?pls advise

tks
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2004, 07:53 AM   #2
panic mode
Member
Canada

panic mode is offline
 
panic mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,962
Check this out:
http://forum.mrplc.com/index.php?act...CODE=02&id=149
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2004, 02:17 PM   #3
pinworm21
Member
United States

pinworm21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 31
0-10 volt simulator

You could always do it the crude way and connect a potentiometer to an 12 volt source and do it that way.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2004, 03:24 PM   #4
RussB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RussB is offline
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,906
0-10 Volt input

I use a 2500K pot and a 9 volt battery.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2004, 08:24 PM   #5
ezal
Member
Malaysia

ezal is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: kl
Posts: 2
Talking thanks

morning panic mode and others.....appreciate your help in this matter....

later
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 11:12 AM   #6
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 31
0-10v input with Pot ... again

Hi, all.
This thread is 14 years old but I am trying the same thing today. I have a 9 volt battery, (9.64v on meter) going through a 10 kohm Allen Bradley pot... in series with a 10k, 3watt resister.
As I crank the pot from 0 ohm to 10k... my voltage at the input only fluctuates from 9.51v to 9.38v. The counts I am getting in the logic are right, so no problem there.
I would really like to get this program written BEFORE the 0-10v analog sensor arrives... but this simulation isn't working.
Any additional insight on this 14 year old thread?

Thanks all... and great forum by the way!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 11:18 AM   #7
keithkyll
Member
United States

keithkyll is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Heath, TX
Posts: 1,895
Eliminate 10K resistor.
Connect + of battery on CW.
Connect - of battery on CCW, and Common of Analog Input.
Connect Wiper of pot (center terminal) to + Input of Analog card.

Last edited by keithkyll; October 13th, 2017 at 11:44 AM. Reason: Resitor value was wrong - not 3K
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 11:28 AM   #8
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 31
You the man!

Works great! Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 11:29 AM   #9
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,051
Hi Robert,

Welcome to PLCTalk

I sell a lot of simulators and you may want one, they are made very good and are cheap in price

https://www.plccable.com/trouble-shooting-tools/
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 01:03 PM   #10
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Sure, send me what you got for a 4-20mA simulator.
I will respond if interested!
RBrede@CardinalCorp.com
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:09 PM   #11
thingstodo
Member
Canada

thingstodo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 83
I use a PLC analog output to simulate the PLC analog input.

0 - 10V out connected to 0 - 10V in. Just add a 24V power supply.

I can program it any way I want ... even use a different PLC to do the simulating ...
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 03:52 PM   #12
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Makes sense!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 04:43 PM   #13
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by thingstodo View Post
I use a PLC analog output to simulate the PLC analog input.

0 - 10V out connected to 0 - 10V in. Just add a 24V power supply.

I can program it any way I want ... even use a different PLC to do the simulating ...
Good idea, but a guy lashing up paper clips with electrical tape to a 9v battery is hardly going to have a spare PLC with analogue outputs to hand.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 04:50 PM   #14
kwade
Member
United States

kwade is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: sc
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by janner_10 View Post
Good idea, but a guy lashing up paper clips with electrical tape to a 9v battery is hardly going to have a spare PLC with analogue outputs to hand.
You are assuming alot - how do you know he is using electrical tape?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPI comunication Manuel Raposo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 22 July 16th, 2007 06:24 AM
Mitsubishi problem gunther LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 June 17th, 2006 09:01 AM
PLC to PLC Communication (Mitsubishi FX2N) c0met LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 31st, 2004 07:31 PM
Normally open or closed or... Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 February 3rd, 2003 07:14 PM
Real World Problem Vietnam Bob LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 23rd, 2002 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


.