You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 30th, 2014, 10:19 AM   #1
ivannn
Member
United States

ivannn is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
RSLogix tags to Factory Talk

Hello,
I am trying to get the tags from an RSLogix 5000 program to FactoryTalk View Studio. I have already added the Device Shortcuts and the and selected the Design (Local) path. When I try to add a button to a Display and set the tags under the connections tab of the Button Properties window, the tags do not show up in the tag browser. I tried refreshing all folders, restarting the program and even readding everything. I do not know what else to try or if i missed any steps. I hope you can help and appreciate any feedback because I am new at this. Thanks in advance for the help.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 10:28 AM   #2
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 884
Did you Verify your Shortcut path? Is it assigned to a Logix Device.
You also can setup an Offline Project File as long as it is located on your local hard drive and get tag info from there. Browse to your .ACD and select.

And last of all when all else fails with FTVME reboot the PC.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 10:32 AM   #3
ivannn
Member
United States

ivannn is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Yes thanks you. I have set up an offline file and restarted computer a few times. No tags show up in the folders.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 11:06 AM   #4
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,537
In the Tag Browser window does your shortcut appear? Do you see Online and Offline underneath that shortcut? What happens if you click the "+" symbol next to these folders?

Verify your shortcut is setup correctly. In RSLinx Enterprise, click on the shortcut that you have created to select it. Then in the right-hand window verify that your controller (cpu) is highlighted. If you have more than one shortcut, clicking each shortcut should highlight the specific cpu you are set to communicate with. You MUST have a cpu selected.

A common mistake here is to not select a cpu since often times as we are performing this step we are not connected to the network where the PLC system would be available. But, you MUST select a cpu. If you cannot browse to the live system to select the cpu, then you can manually add the Ethernet module and then the cpu. Either way, you MUST select a cpu.

After selecting the cpu you can optionally specify your offline tag file, which would be the file from Logix 5000. Which it sounds as though you may have done.

After 1) selecting your shortcut, then 2) selecting your cpu, then 3) specifying an offline tag file then you must hit APPLY and confirm you want to accept these changes. Then you MUST click OK. I have watched many users either leave the RSLinx Enterprise window open or they close the window without clicking OK.

If you are performing all of these steps and it is still not working, then include a screenshot of your RSLinx Enterprise window and another showing us your Tag Browser window. That way we can perhaps see something that is being overlooked.

OG
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (53.0 KB, 77 views)

Last edited by Operaghost; September 30th, 2014 at 11:54 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 11:26 AM   #5
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,537
And here is the Tag Browser window. Note in this example:
  • delete_Me is the name of the FT View ME Application
  • My_Shortcut is the name of the RSLinx Enterprise shortcut
  • Underneath My_Shortcut is the Offline folder which is displaying the available tags from the Logix 5000 .ACD offline tag file
  • At the bottom is the Online folder which is displaying no information as I was not connected to the live network. Clicking the plus caused the "+" or "-" symbol to disappear

OG
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture2.jpg (57.2 KB, 75 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 11:51 AM   #6
ivannn
Member
United States

ivannn is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
It was as simple as not pressing OK! Thank you very much for your help guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 11:55 AM   #7
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,537
I went back and bolded that part for future reference to other users searching this forum.

OG
  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 05:19 PM   #8
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,115
Well done OG - that's a real "gotcha" for many people... I've even done it myself one or two times

Apply AND hit OK, then go back in and check it has assigned the shortcuts, is my m.o. in all cases...
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2014, 06:46 PM   #9
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,156
Done that one myself a few times too.
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2014, 12:20 PM   #10
ivannn
Member
United States

ivannn is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 19
Thanks again!

I ran into another issue... When I follow the same procedure of adding Device Shortcuts and select the Design (Local) path, the tags for SAFETY PLC do not show up in the tag browser. Are safety PLC tags added differently? Nothing appears under the folder in the tags browser, but the others I added still work. I tried everything I could think of to troubleshoot and no luck.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Talk ME to RSLogix Emulate 5000 communication suraj2k LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 October 20th, 2017 09:24 AM
RSLogix 5000 moving program tags to control tags NetNathan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 15th, 2014 06:36 AM
Problem with RSLinx Factory Talk Activation Coulombboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 22nd, 2012 03:29 AM
Assign values to HMI tags in factory talk view SE using VBA NoLegalMoves LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 27th, 2012 01:36 AM
Factory Talk View Studio HMI tags djpalaz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 6th, 2007 01:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


.