Pushbuttons

Buzzen

I didnt check the forums so forgive me if it is out there already. I was wondering if anyone has an idea how I could solve this problem.
Problem=I am programming a panelview plus v.7.055. I am using a Maintained pushbutton to control a valve to open. I was wondering if there is a way that I could get the PB to write zero when the valve opens. The controller is an Allen Bradley 1756-l72.The Logix version is 20.01. I am using Factory Talk Studio 7.00 (CPR 9 SR 6)
Thanks,
Buzzen

Hello,

Could you please explain in a bit more detail what you mean when you say:

get the PB to write zero when the valve opens

1)where do you want to write this 0 to?
2)are you wanting to write this 0 when the PB is pressed or do you actually have some type of feedback and want to write the 0 once you have confirmation the valve is really open?

I am no expert but it would seem that either way this would be done in the plc software not the HMI.

(actually looking at your post again it seems that you may be asking if once the valve is open can the maintained PB be deactivated.) (Is this what you mean?)

Forgive all the questions but I get burned alot when I assume I know what someone is talking about.

With A/B touchscreens, I have always had to use an indicator tag that is not the same as the controlled tag (forgive my generic terminology). If your button uses one tag for both indicator status and control, then the panelview will ASSuME it knows what is going on with the tag and may deceive the viewer in certain situations.

I also tend to use more momentary buttons and even still sometimes add logic in the PLC to ensure they "drop out" in case of communications loss.

This is pure speculation, but: I am not clear whether your valve is a simple discrete output, or something like a motorized actuator with end limits that eventually result in it reaching a position.

More info please.