You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 18th, 2015, 11:25 AM   #1
RobbieNelson
Member
United States

RobbieNelson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 3
Question Restoring FactoryTalk View .apa file

I have a stand alone FactoryTalk View HMI that I want to... 1. make a backup for.... and 2. use the backup machine to do incremental upgrades to FT View.

Existing machine:
Windows XP Pro 32bit SP 3
FactoryTalk View 5.00.00 CPR9 Patch/Pack 00 Build 55

Backup machine:
freshly installed Windows XP Pro 32bit SP3
FactoryTalk View 5.00.00 CPR9 Patch/Pack 00 Build 55
Note: no Rockwell licenses activated, but the FT View grace period has 5 days left

I create the .apa file using the Application Manager. Transfer the file to the backup machine via USB stick. Run a restore on the backup machine via the Application Manager. Select the second option to restore FT Directory. It asks me for a username and password. I use my admin windows UN/PW (which I've read should work). Then I get an error message:

ApplicationManagerServer
The restore was not successful. The FactoryTalk View SE (local) application and FactoryTalk Local Directory for the selected APA were not restored.

If I try to restore without the Directory (1st option), I get the following message:

Application Manager
Unable to restore the application 'name_of_app' from 'location_of_apa'.
Please check that:
- there is sufficient disk space
- the application is not open elsewhere
- the destination application does not already exist

There's plenty of space and the application has never been on this machine.

I've also tried to restore another .apa file from another unrelated HMI with the same errors.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2015, 12:01 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,717
That error message actually covers a wide variety of different problems with the underlying FactoryTalk components.

The *.APA contains a bunch of different stuff; the FTView application itself, the RSLinx enterprise comms configuration, the FT Local Directory information, the Users configuration, the ActiveX components associated with the project, and the KepServer configuration.

A problem with any one of those can prevent the Restore from working correctly.

The most comprehensive list of workarounds for this error message are in RA Knowledgebase Article 34815: FactoryTalk View, Unable to Restore the Application (Access level = TechConnect).

Since this is a fresh installation the first thing I would check is to be sure RSLinx Enterprise is installed, and be sure that there's a valid Shortcut defined in its schema (you can create that from the FactoryTalk Administration Console).
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2015, 12:03 PM   #3
danatomega
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

danatomega is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 789
I fought a similar issue (not 100% that it's exactly the same) until I rebooted.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2015, 12:19 PM   #4
RobbieNelson
Member
United States

RobbieNelson is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
The most comprehensive list of workarounds for this error message are in RA Knowledgebase Article 34815: FactoryTalk View, Unable to Restore the Application (Access level = TechConnect).
I've been googling and searching the Rockwell KB for this issue all morning. Not once did I come across that link. Thanks you!

This fixed it. Sometimes simple things like this are so frustrating.
Quote:
Cause 8
During the install, the user elected to not install the sample applications or only installed the client components.

Therefore the HMI Projects folder was never created during the install:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Shared Documents\RSView Enterprise\SE\HMI Projects

Solution 8
Manually create the HMI Projects folder.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2016, 10:02 AM   #5
Rgoltsch
Member
United States

Rgoltsch is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5
I went to that AB page and went through a number of the steps.

It turned out the guy that saved the program had done a patch rollup from AB and the guy trying to open the file had not.

He went to the Rockwell website, download the latest patch rollup and all is good.

Thanks
Ron
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot create runtime file in FactoryTalk ryano LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 March 3rd, 2018 06:22 PM
FactoryTalk View SE not importing tags from RSView32 project. Transistor LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 11th, 2015 09:45 PM
FactoryTalk View Studio Screen-Resolution Limitation sevanstech LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 2nd, 2015 09:09 AM
Older FactoryTalk View not working with newer FT Services Platform MartyMaucher LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 5th, 2014 02:43 PM
FactoryTalk View Studio Animation Scaling with Resolution Change seestoryrun LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 11th, 2013 04:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


.