You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 23rd, 2015, 04:55 AM   #1
Pablox
Member
United Kingdom

Pablox is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Home
Posts: 54
Looking for a simple 4- 20 ma

Looking for a simple "controller" that fits in a standard 3.77 x 3.77 (96 x 96) cut out.

We have many different controllers here which will do the job, but they are expensive, total overkill and usually have small two line displays.

What I am looking for is a unit which has only one display line, gives me a 0 - 100% display, has an "UP" arrow and a "DOWN" arrow.

At 0% it outputs 4 Ma and at 100% it outputs 20 Ma

Thats it no need for inputs, pid etc. etc.
It's just basically a digital display "4 -20 ma potentiometer" with up/down rather than rotary movement.

Does such a unit exist, anybody ?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 05:58 AM   #2
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,220
You mean something like an analog transducer, in order to input a setpoint, or something like that. And there must be no other confusing buttons or displays.

I dont know if something like that exists.
If not, then maybe do it the other way around.
Simple pushbuttons with inputs to the PLC. The buttons increments or decrements a value in the PLC.
Then add an analog output from the PLC, and use that to drive a simple 7-segment display with analog input. There are plenty of such displays and they cost almost nothing.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 06:01 AM   #3
tragically1969
Member
United Kingdom

tragically1969 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablox View Post
Looking for a simple "controller" that fits in a standard 3.77 x 3.77 (96 x 96) cut out.

We have many different controllers here which will do the job, but they are expensive, total overkill and usually have small two line displays.

What I am looking for is a unit which has only one display line, gives me a 0 - 100% display, has an "UP" arrow and a "DOWN" arrow.

At 0% it outputs 4 Ma and at 100% it outputs 20 Ma

Thats it no need for inputs, pid etc. etc.
It's just basically a digital display "4 -20 ma potentiometer" with up/down rather than rotary movement.

Does such a unit exist, anybody ?

Is all you need a potentiometer for 4-20ma selection ?

Why don't you just use a pot and a signal conditioner or configure the pot to go direct to 4-20ma input on PLC ?

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=2361

Just re-read, your potentiometer reference threw me so ignore my post.

Last edited by tragically1969; November 23rd, 2015 at 06:53 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 06:46 AM   #4
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,415
GOOGLE,

www.beka.co.uk/manuals/ba627e_manual.pdf

www.beka.co.uk/asian_pacific_agents.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 09:59 AM   #5
Pablox
Member
United Kingdom

Pablox is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Home
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by osmanmom View Post
That m8 is almost exactly what I'm looking for, although I would prefer the 96mm x 96mm size.
I'm in Europe though, and I can't see any stockists or dealers for that product.

The operators have got accustomed to a digital scale of 0 -100% which sends the remote machines a 4 -20 ma signal. There is no plc at all.

The "boss" don't want any confusion and wants to retain that "method", so pots or other methods are not applicable.

It's just such a waste ordering the likes of a Honeywell UDC 2500, to do such a simple task, hence my question, so if anyone knows of similar units to the one osmanmom posted please feel free to add them.

P.S the unit doesn't have to be powered by the loop, as any supply voltage is fine too.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 10:04 AM   #6
boneless
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

boneless is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: OKC
Posts: 1,437
PMA might have what you are looking for, but they are expensive.

http://pma-xtra.de/en/products/ks90_92-1.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 10:54 AM   #7
adisharr
Member
United States

adisharr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 236
Here's a potential alternative:

http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...29/SL4848-CR-D

$ 100.00 - had a mode which allows manual control of 4-20mA output. You can apply a black sticker over the SV display and wire the current input directly to the current output for immediate feedback. The display can also be scaled to what you need (0-100).
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 11:11 AM   #8
just the cowboy
Member
United States

just the cowboy is offline
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Pa
Posts: 261
Digital speed pot one line display up down buttons, 95x45 mm thou
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/..._Items/GSDA-DP
__________________
Work safe, have fun, don't die
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 05:19 PM   #9
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,415
uk,

www.beka.co.uk/ordering.html


other option,

oceancontrols.com.au/KTB-266.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2015, 05:30 PM   #10
osmanmom
Member
Malaysia

osmanmom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JOHOR
Posts: 1,415
others,

http://www.alibaba.com/product-detai....29.178.KVNVSp
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting 4-20 mA loop ddeshi2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 November 11th, 2015 04:35 PM
Scaling of Analog Current 4-20 ma Output TahirQ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 November 21st, 2013 04:18 AM
4-20 mA Signal Lost Threshold BillRobinson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 9th, 2012 08:08 PM
SBP current mA Kataeb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 27th, 2011 07:56 AM
4-20 ma program Pratik Patel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 23rd, 2003 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


.