3 way selector switch in factory talk studio and studio 5000

Stewart1

Hello, I’m still a beginner at plc programming. I am trying to use a 3 position selector switch in factory talk studio to simulate a Reset, manual and auto function using three graphics. I know I can animate it using to different selector switches but I just wanted to use one. Also, in need of assistance with the studio 5000 programming. Thank you.

I've had a look at this, and thinking I could do it with a multistate indicator, but the image files don't seem to want to display properly.

Three separate "Images" with visibility animation seems to work OK, have a look at (import it) this graphic display I just put together.

ThreePosSwitch

We've done similar animations. Like daba posted, this uses separate images for each state of the switch using visiblity animation based on switch state logic in the PLC.

The pushbuttons for activating the states are using interlocked pushbuttons but this doesn't allow for a momentary action for the "reset" state.
I'll assume you're wanting to simulate a spring-return RESET and hold-position AUTO and MANUAL.

I don't have the logic handy at the moment but the switch positions are all visibility-animated off of one tag in the PLC. The state tag is incremented through the states with either a sequencer timer or pushbutton value inputs from the interlocked button objects. See the top of the attached pic.

Typically, we use three or four separate PB objects as shown in the bottom of the pic for equipment HOA-RESET control.

Clipboard02.jpg

Hello, I’m still a beginner at plc programming. I am trying to use a 3 position selector switch in factory talk studio to simulate a Reset, manual and auto function using three graphics. I know I can animate it using to different selector switches but I just wanted to use one. Also, in need of assistance with the studio 5000 programming. Thank you.