AB Micro800 VS Phoenix Contact AXC-F-2152

Hi all,

Historically i have used AB compactlogix exclusively working within the Logix/Studio5000 environment. I have decided to step out of my comfort zone and am exploring the use of other controllers. Lower spec controllers, (so my exploratory mission does not cost me so much).

Currently i am experimenting with the Phoenix Contact AXC-F-2152. After which i plan to experiment with AB Micro800 range of controller.

Has anyone here had experience with both and can you please provide a pros and cons on each?

Thank you.

I have little experience on either of those but plenty on many other platforms.
From what I see on here the micro 800 is a terrible platform.
I suppose it will depend on your customers, are they going to stick with RW/AB or do you have a more flexible base of customers etc. there are many other good platforms out there & it is definitely worth getting exerience on them but try to stick with what your customers normally use.
Being in OZ probably means other platforms are more prevelant not like the US where AB dominate.

definitely worth getting exerience on them but try to stick with what your customers normally use.
Being in OZ probably means other platforms are more prevelant not like the US where AB dominate.

I do not work for a company. I have been working in networking for a few years now and after messing around with automation for the past few years, i have decided to try and offer my services in this field. I figure the big players like rio tinto, CSL, or any large operation who have critical production lines would not be looking for a small operator such as myself. So i figure i will offer my services to smaller operations who are looking for a cheap and chearful solutions to small applications. Which is why i am experimenting with these cheaper options. I am trying to understand how effective and reliable they are.

The AB and siemens dominate the large manufacturing operations in OZ also.