Allen Bradley ML1400 HSC

taylorICS

Hi Guys

I'm new to Allen Bradley and I'm trying to figure out how to get a simple encoder input into the MicroLogix 1400. After looking through the help files, I would assume the HSC instruction would do the job. However it is greyed out but the manual 1766-RM001E-EN-P says all ML1400's support HSC inputs.

Any help or advice would be great.

Cheers

Now I realize what you are seeing. The 1400 and all newer models use a Function File for high speed counting. You don't use the HSC instruction. Open your Instruction Set Reference manual and start looking for the section titled 'Using the High Speed Counter'

Ahhh I think I see. I've got the table in front of me and I assume you just use the addresses in the ladder. i.e. if i want to read the current PV then I could just move HSC:0/ACC to a data register N7:0

I also have same problem i had do this tric but it cant work, and is there is any parameter in hsc function files which i ave to set.

is there is any parameter in hsc function files which i ave to set.
Yes, there are a few. I believe the PFN word (i.e. HSC:0.PFN) has to be set to nonzero even if you don't intend to call a subroutine during an underflow/overflow situation. I just set it to 2 for the main program. Also, the FE (function enabled), AS (auto start), and CE (counting enabled) bits have to be on. Of course, the MOD (mode) word has to be set according to your application.

The only instruction you need to use in ladder logic is RAC, to reset the accumulated value of a counter.

Ml-1400 (cat #1766-l32bwaa) encoder not counting fully

Good morning to you! I hope this Thursday finds you well.

I have connected an encoder to I:0/0 on my ML-1400 (1766-L32BWAA)---specifically a Red Lion 100PPR Single-Channel Encoder (the WHITE lead for Data A) to I:0/0 and made the following changes below to my RS-LOGIX 500 program.