Allen Bradley Produced Tags with multiple consumers

jakeparsons03

I have a "Master" 5069-L306ER PLC that is going to hold 1 produced tag running out to 9 consumer PLCs. The L306ER only supports 8 ethernet connections. My question is if I only have 1 Produced tag on that PLC and set it to take in 9 consumers, does that count as 9 ethernet connections or just 1?

Short easy answer upgrade the processor
I have run into that before and the only answer is upgrade
if you wamt to do an indrect way may work for you is have a server computer read the tag from the master and then snt it each of the other PLC's ut i don't like it

Rockwell tried to simplify "connection" counting with the 5069 series by documenting only the number of "EtherNet/IP Nodes" that each controller supports. A "Node" is simpler to understand: it's a device in the I/O tree under the Ethernet port in Studio 5000.

The technical data sheets don't even specify the number of "CIP Connections" anymore; you have to dig a little deeper into Selection Guides to discover the limit is 256 CIP Connections, over up to 120 TCP connections. And you have to estimate the packets/second capacity of the interface.

The 5069-L306ER supports 8 local I/O modules, and 16 EtherNet/IP "nodes".

If one of those remote PLC's is in the L306ER's I/O tree because the L306ER is Consuming a tag from it, then it definitely counts as a node.

But when the 5069-L306ER is in the I/O tree of one of those other PLCs, does that count as a Node, or just as a Connection ?

>1 produced tag running out to 9 consuming PLCs

What I have read is that the Producing controller will reserve 10 total CIP Connections: one for the Produced tag, and one for each Consumer. It will use them all if you're using Multicast, or just enough to serve the active ones if you're using Unicast.