Control Systems P.E. License - Qualifications?

kdcui

Lifetime Supporting Member
All,

I have a question regarding one of the requirements required to qualify to take the P.E. exam (in the USA). I realize the requirements vary state to state but most share similar experience requirements.

In my state (NH), with a 4-year engineering degree from ABET accredited institution, the Board requires 4 years of engineering experience under a P.E..

I have 6 years of experience, essentially as a system integrator, and want to take the Controls Systems PE exam.

Upon contacting the Board they replied that in order to make any exception I must write a letter to the board explaining why I am not able to work under a PE and why my experience should be accepted.

My concerns are:
1) What type of experience / items would they look for in lieu of working under a PE? The "letter of explanation" seems a bit vague and I'd rather have something from which to make justifications.

2) How common are Control Systems PEs? I have only encountered one person is a PE in Control Systems. From my understanding the CS exam was a "newer" addition to the exam offerings. It also does seem to be that common, but I don't have any data to back this up. Essentially it appears my opportunities to work under a PE have been slim.

I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks.

the exact requirements vary with the different professional engineering associations for each geographical area, and the judgement of the specific panel you are dealing with.

The engineering work experience is meant to be directly supervised by a P. Eng. Working in a cutting edge field where there are not many P. Eng or working at a small company where there are not any engineers could be reasons why your work has not been as supervised as it could have been. Peer review is an important part of engineering. Have any P. Eng. seen any of your work, or do you interact with any P. Eng. on your projects?