D-drive engineering Friday challenge

That is amazing. While I am not a mechanical engineer, certainly that looks to be an effective system at that scale.

Let's see how it fairs when it is brought up to handle substantial real-world torque levels in a car.

I would call it genius. Simple components combined in a novel way to achieve a new effect or output...

Hat's off to Mr. Durnin!(y)

I think it is effectively this with an electric motor in place of the variable pitch pulleys and chain. It's also the basis of the power coupling of the Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive. It will be interesting to see how much energy you will need to put into the speed control input when it is under load.

Keith

It will be interesting to see how much energy you will need to put into the speed control input when it is under load.

I was wondering the same thing. In the video, they claim it's a relatively small amount respective to the input power. It's a neat concept though.

Hopefully the inventors claims to 'an order of magnitude' more efficient than a friction based system are true.

The embodiment is new, but the fundamental concept of a phase shifting differential isn't. They've been used in the printing industry for a long time:

http://www.directindustry.com/prod/vogel/differential-9352-400503.html

I hope he is on to something, though. I'm interested to see how the testing fares. After all, the first law of thermodynamics can't be violtated! (Conservation of Energy, you know!)

To me if it works the main savings will be in clutches and matching the transmition to the engine

As Tom said I have seen something similar on offset printing presses to control roller speed.

Got to admit I never thought about using it the way he shows. It will be cool if it works.