Designing a Smart Step Controller for Refrigeration

Drifta

Hi Guys,

I am a student at Swinburne University and trying to learn PLC Programming. Currently trying to program smart control for Condensers as a project. The scenario is that a company has 5 Condensors that are old and they are to be replaced with a set of new condensors with VSD Drives controlling fan speed whereby the old ones didn't have this ability.

So I'm trying to set up to concurent Step Control Sequences that will help smoothen the process of migration as the old condensers get decomissioned over time, replaced with new ones.

Being new to PLC programming as well, I dont quite know how to set up a step and sequence relationship(Focusing for now only on the new VSD Fans)

For example if I have 5 new condensers and I am trying to vary the fan speed and turn on and off certain condensers based on pressure increasing and decreasing.

At the moment the logic I have so far works like this.
step 0 - all fans are off
step 1 - if pressure is increasing + VSD fan is available than start first fan at min speed
step 2 - enable fan PID
step 3 - if fan speed goes above 20Hz + Pressure increasing + another VSD fan available, start next vsd fan and continue till all are on (after all vsd fans on, engage sequence logic to start old condensers)
step 4 - if fan speed less than 18 HZ + Pressure decreasing, stop last fan started (first stop any old condenser fans still running using its logic sequence)
step 5 - go back to step 0 on power fault etc

I am happy with the above steps, however I am running into trouble implementing it.

I have come up with a system where a tag is assinged a value for the steps by moving a step number to the tag if conditions above are met. my problem however is with getting the vsd condensers to come on one at a time and waiting for them to speed up to setpoint before turning next one on.