Does anybody stamp PLC code?

BillRobinson

All,

In your country/state/province/etc, does anybody legally have to stamp/sign-off PLC code? Where I'm from, (Nova Scotia, Canada) anybody can legally write PLC code with no "official" seal of approval. If I were to design a relay logic system that mimicked a PLC routine, a Professional Engineer would have to stamp a drawing and take responsibility for the design.

I think that PLC's have gotten to the point where their complexity and power, can be dangerous and costly and should required a certified, trained, professional to take responsibility of its design. I think this might be a solution to SNK's RANT!

I'm not sure if this is just an Atlantic Canadian thing, so what is the procedure in your area?

Cheers!

Another pinky ring do you mean?

I'm new to Canada and didn't realise about the 'professional engineer' status until I got here.

I can understand the desire, but cannot help to feel it acts as a barrier for decent engineers who have worked their way up through the ranks by being good at what they do.

(Like me, that's why I go against that :nodi:).

It blocks the door to honest hard working engineers who have the skill, only allowing University educated engineers to progress.

As I said I can understand the desire to ensure a level of quality, but having that degree does not always guarantee success and by doing so block others who may have the skill.

Really I don't know the answer, I wish I had gone to University when I had the chance many years ago. I gave up my place as a mature student as we had a small child and couldn't find cheap enough place for us all to live, so returned to work.... IF I HAD KNOWN SHE WAS TO DIVORCE ME 5 YEARS LATER!!!

I would agree that the 'degree' should not be used a barrier. Most of the good guys I know dont have one, and conversley plenty of degee'd guys are not good...