How to get an Allen-Bradley L16ER to talk to serial device?

mecstudent

Hello all,

I am a college student currently working on my senior year engineering capstone project. As part of this project, I have been given an Allen-Bradley L16ER PLC to control everything. One component I am having trouble with is getting the AutomationDirect STP-DRV-4850 stepper motor driver to talk to the PLC. The Allen-Bradley PLC only has ethernet to communicate with devices and the stepper driver only communicates through RS232 or 485 serial. I bought a USR-TCP232-306 ethernet to serial converter in hopes of getting the two to talk to each other but I can't seem to get RSLinx Classic Lite to find the converter since it shows up as a yellow question mark. Can anyone help me either get the converter to work or recommend a better solution to get the PLC and the stepper driver to communicate? I should also mention that I'm working with a limited budget so unfortunately getting the official Allen-Bradley serial expansion card seems to be out of the question.

Thanks everyone!

The port protocols for the STP-DRV-4850 are going to be an obstacle (SCL, ASCII)

If you really need the two to communicate, look for a protocol converter that can bridge between ethernet and serial like this one from RTA:

In order to get the one you bought to talk to it, RSLinx would not be involved. You would have to learn how to use raw sockets for communication after first making sure your controller supports that feature. I have no experience with that but I found this thread that might help:

If you just need to control it with the PLC, wire up the requisite command signals between the two per your application needs.

Your limited hardware budget is certainly a challenge, but it's probably offset by the fact that your labor is included in the training budget, right ?

First, take a step back and define the problem. The adage "a problem well stated is a problem half solved" applies to most challenges.