Im in search of a new PLC but dont know which one to get?

I just bought a little micrologix 1000 plc as part of a trainer package and it has really been working out great for me. I am now looking for a second larger plc that I can start using for real world applications. I am still really new to plc's and I at sometimes dont know exactly what I am looking for.

I am woking on a project that I know will require at least 16 output points on the plc. When I have been searching for plc's I notice that a lot of them either run on AC power or they use 24v dc for input power. For the project I am working on, I will be using quite a few LED's for my output devices and they are made to be powered with 12 volts. Are there PLC's available that I can use a 12v battery for the input line and in return get 12volts out to each of the output points? I like Allen Bradley and programing with RSLogix software because that is what I learned on.

If 24v dc power is the norm, what would be the best or a good way to reduce the voltage down to 12v to power my output LED devices? If I used something to get the power down to 12volts, would that create a lag time when it came to turn on one of the output lights?

Thanks for any help you can give me,

David G.

24VDC is much more the norm. I would get some new LEDs or use a 1.5k resistor in series so I could use 24VDC.

David,

If you go with the 12 VDC type of PLC, then you will be unable to learn about the more-common-in-industry 24 VDC output devices. As Bob said, get one powered by and having 24 VDC inputs and outputs, then either use 24 VDC LEDs for your training, or go with voltage-divider resistors. Many of the Automation Direct DL-06 models will run on a DC voltage anywhere from 10 to 27 VDC, and with relay outputs you can run almost any voltage (AC or DC) through the relay output contacts. While you are in shopping mode, get yourself a small 120 VAC to 24 VDC power supply.

Last edited: