Making a Liquid Vending Machine

ricardoxh

Hi, I have seen a few post with similar topics and I have tried contacting the authors however I have not had any luck so I am posting this new thread.

I am looking for guidance on creating a liquid cleaning product vending machine. I’m totally new to PLC programming, I know some basic Visual Basic language and I am somewhat mechanically inclined.

I think my best way to start is learning the ladder logic and having a Rockwell PLC since I have read is the easiest for a new person like me. Also to my understanding I need a PLC that has MDB for a card reader and coin/bill acceptor. And on top of that I will need some pumps to pump the liquid and buttons to switch product.

Could I get some guidance on what parts to buy, especially I guess it will be the PLC that works with MDB. I assume the mechanical parts like buttons and pumps can be any brand and can be kind of plug and play with some programming of course. I would like the vending machine to have 3-5 different products.

I second this, especially for something like cleaning products, as prefilled bottles will prevent spills or accidental cross contamination between products that may react negatively with one another.

Hello ricardoxh

I found you post on the PLCTALK and it looks like an interesting project
I would like to hear more about it
The one thing I is it look like a very expensive project
As was mentioned I would be better to purchase an existing vending machine and use it.
You really didn’t not give a lot of details on what you have in mind.
I have done automated carwashes. Custom blending machines, automated crane systems, complete feed mills plants actually quite a few custom automated system of all types.
If you would like to talk about it please feel free to contact me directly
Email [email protected]
Phone 717-940-9079
It cost you nothing to talk about it and we both may learn something

Regards Gary